Racially based teams for Canberra’s local T20 comp

By 14 December 2012 2

Chris Bourke has the curious announcement that Canberra’s getting a local twenty over cricket competition. But how are they forming the teams?

The eight Champions Trophy teams are the Pakistan Greens, Pakistan Stars, Sri Lankan Lions, West Indies Lions, Australian Taipans, Afghanistan Leopards, Indian Royals and the Indian Strikers.

Dr Bourke said, “With the support of the Diplomatic Community and players living in Canberra from around the cricketing world, we hope to see this event grow in future years.

“Our centenary year is only days away. Sport, especially cricket has been part of the social glue of Canberra since its early days. Sport transcends language and cultural differences and brings together people from all backgrounds.

“I am sure the Canberra Cricket Champions Trophy will demonstrate how that tradition lives on and brings together multicultural Canberra through the great multicultural game of cricket.

Oh nothing can go wrong here…

Please login to post your comments
2 Responses to
Racially based teams for Canberra’s local T20 comp
watto23 4:46 pm
14 Dec 12

Well its only racist if you have to be a certain race to play in each team :-)

Thumper 5:38 pm
14 Dec 12

Canberra Cricket Champions Trophy

What’s wrong with the local grade 20/20?

Follow The RiotACT
Get Premium Membership
Advertisement Newsletter Sign Up

Should school bus travel be free?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Images of Canberra

RiotACT Proudly Supports
Copyright © 2014 Riot ACT Holdings Pty Ltd. All rights reserved.