5 October 2010

Book Prize shortlists announced

| johnboy
Start the conversation

Katy Gallagher is making the most of being acting arts minister, today announcing the short lists for the ACT Book of the Year Award, and the Judith Wright Prize.

    The Book of the Year Award nominees are:

    — Andrew Byrnes, Hilary Charlesworth, and Gabrielle McKinnon for Bills of Rights in Australia: history, politics and law, UNSW Press, 2009;
    — Alan Gould for The Lake Woman, Australian Scholarly Publishing (an imprint of Arcadia), 2009;
    — Marion Halligan for Valley of Grace,Allen& Unwin, 2009;
    — Matthew Higgins for Rugged Beyond Imagination, National Museum of Australia Press, 2009; and
    — Mark Tredinnick for The Blue Plateau: A Landscape Memoir, University of Queenland Press, 2009.

    The Judith Wright Prize nominees are:

    — Jordie Albiston- the sonnet according to ‘m’, John Leonard Press, 2009.
    — Peter Boyle- Apocrypha, Vagabond Press, 2009.
    — Philip Hammial- Skin Theory, Puncher and Wattmann, 2009.
    — Susan Hawthorne- Earth’s Breath, Spinifex Press, 2009.
    — Emma Jones- The Striped World, Faber and Faber, 2009.
    — Felicity Plunkett- Vanishing Point, University of Queensland Press, 2009.

The winners will be announced in November.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.