15 March 2013

Brumbies ring changes for the Sharks

| johnboy
Join the conversation

Wily fox Jake White appears to be up to something in his home of South Africa.

The team has announced their team for this weekend’s clash in Durban with the Sharks:

Scott Sio makes his first career start at loose-head prop in Durban on Saturday night when the University of Canberra Brumbies take on the Sharks.

The 21-year-old is one of five changes to the team which beat the Waratahs in Canberra last week, with George Smith (open-side flanker), Fotu Auelua (No. 8), Tevita Kuridrani (outside centre) and Joe Tomane (wing) all moving into the starting 15.

With Sio at loose-head, Ben Alexander slides across the scum to tight-head where he is usually seen playing for the Wallabies. Coincidentally, Sio made his Super Rugby debut off the bench against the Sharks in 2012 and will now make his run-on debut in the same fixture a year later.

Captain Ben Mowen switches from the back of the scrum to blind-side flanker and Peter Kimlin to lock, while Scott Fardy and Clyde Rathbone drop to the bench. Ruaidhri Murphy makes his first appearance on the bench since round one, while Andrew Smith and Dan Palmer drop out of the match-day 22.

With David Pocock set to miss the rest of the Super Rugby season, former Australian Under 20’s skipper Colby Faingaa will also feature on the Brumbies bench in place of 129-game veteran, George Smith. Despite being just 21 this is Faingaa’s third tour of South Africa, with the young flanker keen to leave a big impact once injected from the bench.

Here’s the team after all that:

    University of Canberra Brumbies
    1. Scott Sio
    2. Stephen Moore
    3. Ben Alexander
    4. Peter Kimlin
    5. Sam Carter
    6. Ben Mowen (c)
    7. George Smith
    8. Fotu Auelua
    9. Nic White
    10. Matt Toomua
    11. Joe Tomane
    12. Christian Lealiifano
    13. Tevita Kuridrani
    14. Henry Speight
    15. Jesse Mogg

    16. Siliva Siliva
    17. Ruaidhri Murphy
    18. Scott Fardy
    19. Colby Faingaa
    20. Ian Prior
    21. Robbie Coleman
    22. Clyde Rathbone

The game will be on at 2am on Sunday morning our time.

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments

Thank goodness George Smith is in the squad.

CrocodileGandhi10:36 am 15 Mar 13

Sio was outstanding when he came on against the Tahs. Leaving aside the fact that a half eaten sandwich could have played well against that awful NSW outfit, I’m happy for him to start in Durban.

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.