Mary Webb wins Volunteer of the Year

johnboy 15 May 2012

Joy Burch has been celebrating Canberra’s volunteers at the Vounteers of the Year Awards.

Volunteering ACT have announced the winners:

The 2012 ACT Volunteer of the Year was Mary Webb. Mary was nominated by Multiple Sclerosis Limited. Dr Mary Webb has provided invaluable volunteer service to those people in the Canberra Community with Multiple Sclerosis. Having served on various advisory bodies over the years Mary’s positive “can do” attitude impacts on every person she meets.

The 2012 ACT Volunteer Team of the Year is the Adult Migrant English Program Home Tutor Scheme, nominated by the Canberra Institute of Technology Vocational College. With up to 150 volunteers active volunteers making up the team, the tutors assist people from different cultures and widely different levels of literacy. Often tutors act as a conduit between students and the wider community.

Category Winners of 2012 ACT Volunteer of the Year Awards




Highly Commended

Arts and Heritage

David Hutchison

Community Care and Social Support

Max Kimber

Dot Mills

Community Service

Mary Webb

Neville Tomkins

Education, Science and Technology

Hazel Giesecke

Geraldine O’Connor


David Williams

Sport and Recreation

Gordon McLoughlin

Di Evans


Frank Brown




Highly Commended

Community Care and Social Support

St Vincent de Paul Night Patrol Team

Talking Newspaper Service Cooma and Narooma

Community Service

ACT AMEP Home Tutor Scheme

ANU Volunteers


Stanford Course Peer Leaders

Pegasus Hippotherapy Team

Sport and Recreation

YMCA of Canberra Runners Club Committee

2012 ACT Volunteer of the Year: Mary Webb

2012 ACT Volunteer Team of the Year: ACT AMEP Home Tutor Scheme

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site