New Heritage Council members announced

Canfan 12 June 2014 4

New members have been appointed to the Heritage Council following the expiry of tenure for five of the nine current members.

Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate, Simon Corbell, said the new members would bring a range of expertise and interests to the Council, including archaeology, and conservation of objects.

“The council has an important role to identify and assess nominations to the ACT Heritage Register and provide advice on conservation of cultural, natural and Aboriginal heritage places and objects in the ACT,” Mr Corbell said.

“The council membership must reflect the interests of the community, developers and experts in the relevant fields to ensure we make appropriate decisions that will protect our special heritage places and objects into the future.

“I would like to thank the retiring members for their important contribution to Canberra’s past and present, and welcome the new members.

The new members are:

· Mr John Kenworthy, a civil engineer who will represent the property ownership, management and development sector

· Mr Doug Williams, an archaeologist with expertise in Aboriginal culture and history

· Dr Mary Hutchison, a historian with particular interest in Canberra’s history and heritage

· Dr Hanna Jaireth, a legal and administrative officer with professional interest in nature conservation

· Mr George Bailey, a conservator of cultural material.

Appointments of the current Chair, Mr Duncan Marshall, and Deputy Chair, Dr Dianne Firth and community representative, Pamela O’Neil, will continue until March 2015. The Chief Planning Executive of the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate, Dorte Ekelund, and Conservator of Flora and Fauna, Alan Traves, are ex-officio members of the council. The appointment of a representative of the Aboriginal community is being finalised.

(Media Release Simon Corbell)

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with
4 Responses to New Heritage Council members announced
A_Cog A_Cog 6:58 pm 14 Jun 14

Masquara said :

… The point of having a heritage council is to protect heritage buildings from developers…

Yeah, let’s say that we’re all about the environment and culture, and try to freeze Canberra in 1946, and force people to buy horrendously carbon-intensive McMansions in bland suburbs like Crace with no culture further and further out so they all need to drive for 45 minutes to get to work. Let’s shroud our NIMBY-ism behind ‘heritage’.

Many ‘heritage’ buildings should to be developed and updated with 21st century purposes in mind. The Sydney and Melbourne buildings in Civic are two examples. Prime sites in the middle of the city, only two floors high, and total fire-traps.

Here’s hoping the new members are a little more cluey than the old members, who had a tendency to… overstep and misinterpret their own powers and legislation:

rosscoact rosscoact 9:37 am 14 Jun 14

There has always been a member of the development industry on the Council IIRC, and why on earth wouldn’t there be? After all, the vast majority of decisions involve potential development so having one person who knows what they are talking about in this regard is essential for their decisions.

Masquara Masquara 10:22 pm 13 Jun 14

Note that John Kenworthy is a part owner, or possibly formally ex owner, of Village Building, which paid half price for a massive parcel of land in 2011. How can Simon Corbell justify this appointment?

Masquara Masquara 8:16 pm 13 Jun 14

John Stanhope’s legacy continues. The point of having a heritage council is to protect heritage buildings from developers – putting the fox in charge of the henhouse with the addition of a proponent of development to the council.

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site