New names for the ACT Honour Walk

johnboy 11 May 2012 9
ACT honour walk

The likes of us are not invited to the unveiling of plaques on the ACT Honour Walk, nor is the internet graced by any media release on the subject.

But there on the southern stubb of Ainslie Avenue are the latest rash of plaques honouring the great and the good of Canberra.

And so in the order I found them to take photographs we have:

Peter Leonard.

peter leonard

Val Jeffery

val jeffery

John Buckingham

john buckingham

Trevor Kaine

travor kaine

Canberra Capitals

canberra capitals

Marion Le

marion le

Chris Peters

chris peters

Jim Murphy

jim murphy

The Griffins

the Griffins

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with
9 Responses to New names for the ACT Honour Walk
bigfeet bigfeet 11:22 pm 11 May 12

Brianna said :

I do wonder how the chosen are decided upon. Who nominates? Who votes? Seems that the plaques suddenly just appeared.

I’m intrigued by this as well. A cursory search have led me to a number of ACT Govt sites telling me how to nominate someone (and a few Riotact postings) but nothing on the actual selection process.

I would think that something that acknowleges “the immense contribution made by those who have helped to shape the city of Canberra as we know it today” ( ) would warrant a full explanation of the criteria and selection process.

At the very least any inclusion or addition should have a media release. Surely there is a ceremony inviting the person or their family to come to unveiling?

I’m surprised that there isn’t a website dedicated to the Honour Walk. I’m happy to be corrected if there is actually more information available.

BerraBoy68 BerraBoy68 10:41 pm 11 May 12

It’s hard not to agree with Leonard, Buckingham, Murphy, the Capitals and even Le. but I’m baulking at the Val Jeffery plaque. To me he just seems like the loudest and angriest voice in a small village.

Actually, if the Capital’s are included, how can we not also consider the historic Canberra Cannon’s and Canberra United who recently cleaned-up in the W-league?!

    johnboy johnboy 10:48 pm 11 May 12

    What the plaque neglected for reasons of political sensitivity was Val’s heroics in 2003 which spared Tharwa while all around it burned.

Very Busy Very Busy 10:15 pm 11 May 12

Jon Stanhope’s name just had to get in there somehow didn’t it. Please please please just let me forget about him.

    johnboy johnboy 10:17 pm 11 May 12

    So many tories getting their plaque? Sonic must be mighty pissed!

Dacquiri Dacquiri 9:58 pm 11 May 12
cranky cranky 7:21 pm 11 May 12

A worthy group.

Perhaps politics can be overcome to include Kate Carnell at some point.

I-filed I-filed 7:16 pm 11 May 12

Illiterate … as you’d expect: ” … elegant set of drawings that comprised the Griffin entry”. Wrong! They were part of the Griffin entry not the whole thing. Who wrote these things? And who has put Walter Burley Griffin and Trevor Kaine on the same plane? Ludicrous.

Brianna Brianna 6:36 pm 11 May 12

I do wonder how the chosen are decided upon. Who nominates? Who votes? Seems that the plaques suddenly just appeared.

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site