Time to nominate champions of inclusion

Canfan 8 September 2014

Nominations are now open for the 2014 ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards, recognising individuals, organisations and businesses that are inclusive of people with disability.

“These Awards, now in their 11th year, are a great opportunity to raise awareness and promote the outstanding inclusive work being done throughout our community,” Minister for Disability Joy Burch said.

“This important annual event showcases the outstanding work of individuals and organisations to create positive change and a more inclusive Canberra community.

“Last year’s winner of the Award for Excellence was the ACT Council of Parent and Citizens Associations for its hard work to develop innovative resources to raise awareness about the inclusion of students with disability.

“I look forward to celebrating similar good work this year.”

This year the Awards will recognise inclusive leaders in the following categories:

  • Recognising people with disability who are leaders in inclusion;
  • Excellence in inclusion for mainstream services;
  • Excellence in delivering enabling and inclusive specialist disability services; and
  • Excellence in enabling inclusion through supporting people with disability.

The Inclusion Awards support the ACT Government’s disability policy framework – Future Directions : Towards Challenge 2014 – that aims to improve outcomes and opportunities for people with disability.

For more information, including the nomination form, visit www.actinclusion.com.au. Nominations close Friday 10 October 2014.

(Joy Burch Media Release)

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site