Skip to content Skip to main navigation


Quality childcare in a
welcoming & supportive environment

ACT Australians of the Year announced.

By johnboy 29 November 2005 21

Comrade Stanhope has announced the ACT Australians of the Year. (Not to be confused with the bastardised Canberrans of the year of which all here in 2003 are one)

They are in the running for the Australia Day Australian of the Year announcement.

The winners are:

* Dr Geoffrey Lancaster – ACT Australian of the Year 2006
* Emeritus Professor Frank Fenner CMG MBE AC, – ACT Senior Australian of the Year 2006;
* Sharon Sobey – ACT Young Australian of the Year 2006; and
* Ross Walker – ACT Local Hero 2006.

Anyone know anything about our winners?

What’s Your opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with
21 Responses to
ACT Australians of the Year announced.
Showing only Website comments
Newest to Oldest
Oldest to Newst
Ben B 11:01 am 05 Dec 05

Have heard Geoffrey Lancaster conduct CSO in 2004 and do a piano forte concert at Wesley in 2005. He taught piano to my housemate. Heard on his radio interview that he’s a real Canberra boy and even went to Forrest Primary! Looked him up in ‘Who’s Who, 2004’ and he has a massive entry even though he’s a quiet achiever. Great to see an international Australian artist in AOTY, one who is really deserving and hasn’t already got an AC CMG OBE…

Related Articles

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Copyright © 2018 Region Group Pty Ltd. All rights reserved. | | |

Search across the site