Australian Poetry Slam heat dates announced

Barcham 7 August 2013

The Canberran slam poetry scene is massive, inspiring, and challenging. If you’ve got even a passing interest in the spoken word you owe it to yourself to check out some of the wonderful local performer/writers we have here.

In fact coming to one of these heats would be a great place to do just that.

The team behind BAD!SLAM!NO!BISCUIT! is running the Canberra branch of this years Australian Poetry Slam, and we’re hoping to repeat last year’s Cinderella story of CJ Bowerbird becoming the bell of the ball when he won the Australian finals to become the Australian Poetry Slam champion for 2012/2013.

This year we’d like another Canberran poet to do the same.

Showcasing some of Canberra’s finest poets, the heats will occur on Wednesday 21 August at the Phoenix Pub in Civic, and Thursday 5 September at Belconnen’s La De Da. The Final will be at Smith’s Alternative Bookshop on Saturday 7 September.

Run by the team behind BAD!SLAM!NO!BISCUIT!, each heat will select five poets to compete in the Hadley Memorial Slam ACT Final at Smith’s Alternative Bookshop. Two winners from the Final will then head to Sydney to compete against poets from across Australia. Prizes for the heats and final come from sponsors Impact Comics, The Games Capital, and Smith’s Alternative Bookshop.


[Top image courtesy of Adam Thomas]

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site