A landmark granite fieldstone home built as an inn by Braidwood’s first Clerk of Court, Patrick Goulding, in 1856 is on the market and comes with a substantial two-storey wood-framed barn currently used for an antiques business.
‘Tidmarsh’ at 50 Ryrie Street in Braidwood has been meticulously restored to its early appearance and in 2004 was awarded the National Trust’s State prize for best conservation.
The property also features a massive barn known as ‘Longbarn’, which was reconstructed in 2003 using scaled designs from the 1860s building, as well as a charming garden with established trees, wisteria, grapes, vegetable gardens, a chicken coop and a woodshed.
The barn is currently the home of ‘Longbarn and String’, an antiques and vintage linen business run by the property’s current owners, Gary and Jane Kendall, who are looking to simplify their lives and pursue their French tour business.
‘Tidmarsh’ sits on 1,251 square metres of land and was modelled on a rural Irish Inn of the early 19th century.
On the market for $1,695,000, the home features stunning local granite walls ranging in colour from light grey to pink and yellow.
Its steeply pitched roof has dormer windows and was beautifully restored 13 years ago with hand-cut blood wood shingles and lead flashings.
Listing agent Kelly Allen from Luton Properties Braidwood said the house is one of Braidwood’s key historic homes and has been renovated “from head to toe”.
“It’s like walking into how it would have been in 1856. It would have been a grand home in its time.”
Ms Allen said the barn is itself the size of a full house and the property could suit someone who was looking to also run a business or a commercial gallery space or who wanted to operate a bed & breakfast.
‘Tidmarsh’ is two-storey and has 14 rooms, including an entrance hall, drawing room, library, original 1850s bar, breakfast room, gourmet kitchen, three generous bedrooms and a study or fourth bedroom.
Some of the historic house’s special features include lath and plaster ceilings, original 12-inch deal floorboards, wainscot panelling, original polished cedar fireplace surrounds and fitted bookcases, fitted library bookcases with sliding ladder, a ‘winder’ staircase, a large country kitchen and a 1920s-style bathroom using original antique fittings all restored to fine condition.
The home’s restored windows retain 19th-century glass and the rooms are finished in original 1850s colours taken from scrapings.
The bar has been restored to represent the original tap room of the 1850s Inn and has a magnificent cedar counter and fitted shelves.
‘Longbarn’ is a six-bay barn which measures 18 metres by 6 metres and uses massive timbers with traditional knee bracing and mortised joints.
The huge downstairs room is currently used for the antiques business but previously housed a collection of 14 vintage cars and a workshop.
The upstairs area was designed to easily convert to a studio apartment for teenagers or guests. It currently contains a large studio, office and storeroom with two balconies and pretty dormer ceilings.
For more information or to arrange an inspection contact Ms Allen on 0466 632 696 or click here.