2 November 2017

New website to promote Canberra Region to the world

| Ian Bushnell
Start the conversation

Lake Burley Griffin. Photo: Jack Mohr.

A new website to promote the Canberra Region as a place to live, visit and invest has been launched as part of a collaboration between the ACT Government, the NSW Government, and Canberra Region Joint Organisation.

The Canberra Region website provides tourists, residents and potential investors with insights, tips, news and information about the region and what it offers, including the Snowy Mountains and its ski slopes, the South Coast’s pristine beaches, vast country landscapes and the cosmopolitan capital city at its heart.

Regional leaders launched the website on 30 October at the Canberra Airport with local wines, livestock and produce on show.

ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr said Canberra had been named one of the top 10 cities in the world to visit in 2018, thanks in part to its proximity to the mountains, the coast, and the nearby wine regions.

“Promoting the wider Canberra Region is a key priority of the ACT Government, so it’s great to be part of this ongoing effort to highlight everything the region has to offer,” he said.

The Canberra Region consists of four sub-regions, each of which has its own unique characteristics – the Coast, the Alpine District, the Tablelands and the City.

The website also offers a series of demographic information resources designed to inform community groups, investors, businesses, students and the general public about the characteristics of the Region’s growing population and its changing economy.

Picture collage of Canberra

Lucky to live in Canberra: a new website promoting the Capital is launched.

Deputy Premier of New South Wales, John Barilaro said the NSW Government was working with the ACT Government and Local Government across the entire Canberra Region to secure its economic, social and environmental future.

“The Canberra Region website is a fantastic joint initiative that will act as a gateway to our coastline, the Snowy Mountains, the National Capital and showcase our agricultural landscape that produces some of the world’s finest wool, seafood, wine, stone fruit and beef,” he said.

Bega Valley Shire Mayor Cr Kristy McBain praised the region’s champions, who had harnessed the unique advantages of the region and demonstrated the best of the Australian spirit.

“Their initiative, optimism, and passion for collaboration have led to ideas that have placed the Canberra Region on the world map,” she said.

The Canberra Region Joint Organisation consists of the ACT Government and the Bega, Eurobodalla, Hilltops, Goulburn Mulwaree, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Upper Lachlan and Yass Valley Shire Councils.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.