12 November 2021

Patty Mills headlines the ACT's Australian of the Year nominees

| Max O'Driscoll
Join the conversation
Patty Mills

Patty Mills has been nominated for ACT’s Australian of the Year. Photo: Supplied.

The ACT nominees for the 2022 Australian of the Year Awards have been released, recognising quiet achievers and Australians making a name on world stages.

The Australian of the Year category is headlined by Brooklyn-based Olympian and Indigenous rights advocate Patrick (Patty) Mills. It also features doctor and diversity advocate Dr Marrwah Ahmadzi, obstetrician and co-founder of Mother Ignacia Hospital Dr David O’Rourke, and doctor and entrepreneur Dr Sam Prince.

The Canberra-born Mills has been nominated after attending his fourth Olympics and carrying the Australian Boomers to its longly sought after first podium finish. Mills was also the first Indigenous flag bearer at the Olympics and uses his influence to champion diversity and celebrate Indigenous culture to his international audience.

Other notable nominees nationwide include founders of Small Steps 4 Women Sue and Lloyd Clarke from Queensland, tennis champion and Olympian Dylan Alcott, and director of the Aboriginal Justice Unit Leanne Liddle.

The ACT’s Young Australian of the Year nominees are Running for Resilience founder Matthew Breen, co-founder of the Girls Leadership Network Asha Clementi, advocate and youth leader with Canteen Sean Dondas, and policy adviser and multicultural youth advocate Jahin Tanvir.

Anne Buttsworth

Anne Buttsworth PSM is one of the ACT’s Senior Australian of the Year nominees. Photo: Supplied.

The Senior Australian of the Year nominees are EveryMan Australia CEO Gregory Aldridge, chair of the Early Morning Centre Anne Buttsworth, St John Ambulance volunteer Valmai Dempsey, and CEO of Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health and Community Services Julie Tongs.

The ACT’s nominees for the Local Hero award are financial literacy educator Kate Crowhurst, youth support worker at the Woden School Luke Ferguson, group leader of Women’s Adventure ACT Kelli-Ann Jackson, and founder and head coach at Everyday Champions Rob Regent.

Head to Australian of the Year to view the rest of the 129 nominees for the awards.

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments
Trevor Willis5:19 pm 29 Oct 21

Mills seems a nice enough bloke but he now lives and works in America. Although he is aboriginal he should now be given the honour while not living here

I don’t think it matters, he is STILL an Australian, yes?

Doesn’t matter where he is now. He’s still an Australian, yes?

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.