Yvette Berry named as sixth ACT Government minister

Canfan 8 April 2015

Labor MLA Yvette Berry has been elected as the sixth minister in the ACT Government.

The Labor Caucus elected Yvette this morning, filling the role in the Ministry left by the former Chief Minister. Her portfolio responsibilities will be announced tomorrow, along with those of the other five ministers.

Chief Minister Andrew Barr said he expects Yvette, who worked in the hospitality industry and as a community organiser prior to joining the assembly, to continue to stand up for working families and fight for the disadvantaged in her role as minister.

“I’m delighted Yvette has been appointed to this role by the Labor Caucus. She has displayed her skills and commitment to her community as an MLA and I’m confident she will be a real asset to the Government and to the people of the ACT,” he said in a statement.

Yvette has been an MLA since the 2012 election and chairs the Select Committee on Regional Development and the Planning, Environment and Territory and Municipal Services Standing Committee. She has also served on a number of other committees in areas including Public Accounts, Justice and Community Safety and Education, Training, Youth and Community Affairs.

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter


Search across the site