1 February 2021

ACT declares three WA areas - including Perth - COVID-19 hotspots

| David Murtagh
Start the conversation
COVID-19 testing

A new health directive applies to people who have been in certain areas of WA since 25 January. Photo: Dominic Giannini.

The ACT Government has declared the Perth metropolitan area, the Peel and South-West regions of Western Australia (WA) COVID-19 affected areas.

The Public Health Direction, which came into effect at 2:00 pm today (1 February), restricts travel to the ACT from these areas.

An online declaration will now need to be made by residents within 24 hours of returning to the ACT if they have been to any of these areas since 25 January, and they must quarantine until 9:00 pm Friday (5 February).

READ MORE ACT imposes quarantine restrictions on travellers from Perth, including MPs

If ACT residents are planning to return from one of the COVID-19 affected areas in WA, an online declaration form must be completed, and quarantine must be undertaken along with COVID-19 testing.

Non-residents currently in the ACT who have been in a COVID-19 affected area since 25 January must also enter quarantine immediately until at least 9:00 pm on Friday, get tested for COVID-19, and complete an online declaration form within 24 hours of the Public Health Direction coming into effect today.

Quarantine must be maintained until 9:00 pm Friday even if a negative result is returned.

The ACT Government will provide updates on WA travel restrictions via the ACT COVID-19 website. The online declaration form will be available from 4:00 pm today.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.