31 August 2017

AFL Canberra’s big week with Awards Night and upcoming Grand Finals

| Doug Dobing
Start the conversation

2017 Best & Fairest Award recipients celebrate on stage with Mary Ann Bainrot Medalist Britt Tully and Mulrooney Medalist Beau Walker. Photo: Doug Dobing.

AFL Canberra kicked off this week with the Mulrooney Medal Awards at the Canberra Southern Cross Club. It was an evening of high fashion, anticipating vote counts and celebrating achievements, traditionally held on the Monday night before the Grand Finals.

This year more than 300 players, coaches, umpires, administrators and volunteers walked the red (and turf green) carpet to enter the awards night, which is the highlight of the AFL Canberra social calendar.

Ready for the highlight of the AFL Canberra social calendar. Photo: Doug Dobing.

Television presenter Natalie Forrest was the master of ceremonies for the night that recognises the outstanding achievements of players, coaches, umpires and volunteers for their contribution to the season.

2017 Mulrooney Medalist Beau Walker and 2017 Mary Ann Bainrot Medalist Britt Tully were joined on stage by other Best & Fairest award winners Harry Grant (Rising Stars), Charlie Boyton (2nd Grade), Simon McPherson (3rd Grade) and Bill Reid (4th Grade).

Player of the Year

The 2017 Player of the Year award was re-introduced this year for both Men’s and Women’s 1st Grade competitions, based on coaches votes for each round of the home and away season.

The Broadbean Catering 2017 Women’s Player of the Year was awarded to Jodie Hicks (Belconnen Magpies). The Broadbean Catering 2017 Men’s Player of the Year was awarded to James Bennett (Belconnen Magpies).

2017 Players of the Year Jodie Hicks and James Bennett. Photo: Doug Dobing.

Women’s team of the decade
A feature of the evening was the celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the AFL Canberra Women’s competition. Starting in 1997, the competition has grown to 11 teams. A short video highlighted the past 20 years of women’s AFL in Canberra.

To celebrate the milestone, the AFL Canberra Women’s Team of the Decade was announced.

A special guest of the evening was inaugural AFLW Premiership coach Bec Goddard. Ms Goddard has made a significant contribution to AFL Canberra as a player, coach and umpire.

Ms Goddard was named Head Coach of the AFL Canberra Women’s Team of the Decade.

In recognition of his valuable contribution to the AFL game, Ms Goddard also awarded the 2017 Rebecca Goddard Community Umpiring Award to Dale Puren.

2017 Rebecca Goddard Community Umpiring Award recipient Dale Puren and Bec Goddard. Photo: Doug Dobing.

Ainslie Football club 1st Grade coach Chris Rourke joined the 200 Club, as recognition of his coaching of 200 games over the past decade with the Ainslie Tricolours.

200 Club award recipients Chris Rourke, Kerry Mathews and Ryan Turnbull. Photo: Doug Dobing.

Other recipients of the 200 Club awards for playing 200 games were Kristin Ireland (Riverina Lions), Amy Currie (Tuggeranong Hawks), Kerry Matthews (Tuggeranong Hawks) and Ryan Turnbull (Belconnen Magpies).

Craig McLeish (Tuggeranong Hawks) was awarded the 2017 NSW/ACT Volunteer of the year.

Gungahlin Jets AFL Women players at the Mulrooney Awards Night. Photo: Doug Dobing.

A full list of award winners of the night can be found by clicking here.

Grand Finals

Despite snow and the Canberra chill, huge crowds cheered on the intense AFL Canberra Preliminary Finals round last weekend.

This weekend will showcase the best teams in the competition as they play off in the AFL Canberra Grand Finals to claim the 2017 Premiership cup.

2017 AFL Canberra Grand Final

Join us this weekend to cheer on the greatest game on earth. Who do you think will win? And which teams will you be cheering on? Let us know in the comments below.

Doug Dobing is a modern communicator, journalist and content creator with a passion for people, politics and social justice. You can also hear him talking about local current affairs issues on 2XX FM 98.3 SubjectACT. He loves AFL and is an AFL Canberra photographer. You can find him on Twitter @DougDobing.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.