7 February 2018

Brumbies star Andrew Walker returns to Brumbies Tens squad

| Lachlan Roberts
Start the conversation

Former Brumbies star Andrew Walker was one of the standout performers in last year’s inaugural Tens tournament. Photo: Supplied by the Brumbies.

Former Brumbies star Andrew Walker will make a return to Suncorp Stadium for the 2018 Brisbane Global Rugby Tens as the Brumbies announced a 26-man squad for the tournament this weekend.

Walker, who was capped seven times by the Wallabies, was one of the standout performers in last year’s inaugural Tens tournament and will once again don the colours for the 2018 edition in the hope of having the same impact.

The 44-year-old played 47 games for the Brumbies, including winning the 2001 Super Rugby championship, and played rugby league for St George, the Roosters and Manly.

The Brumbies have included a mix of youth and experience in their tournament squad with five Wallaby internationals named, including Fijian-born speedster Henry Speight, playmaker Kyle Godwin and Rory Arnold, who could team up with brother Richie, who is also in the squad.

Record Brumbies caps holder Ben Alexander, who enjoyed a memorable cameo in the 2017 competition will add experience to the lineup. The Brumbies believe that they have plenty of dynamism and mobility in a pack that includes Olympic Sevens star Tom Cusack and young tyro Rob Valetini who is fresh off an outstanding National Rugby Championship with the Canberra Vikings.

New signings Arnold, James Verity-Amm, Mees Erasmus, Lachlan McCaffrey and Chance Peni will all play a part over the two-days with the promising Issak Fines and hooker Connal McInerney hoping to stake a claim.

The Brumbies have been drawn in a tough pool and will have to beat Fiji, Crusaders and the Hurricanes to reach the knockout stage.

After completion of the tournament, the Brumbies will head to the Sunshine Coast to tackle the Chiefs in the final trial match before the commencement of the 2018 Super rugby season.

Brumbies squad: Robbie Abel, Ben Alexander, Richie Arnold, Rory Arnold, Tom Cusack, Blake Enever, Mees Erasmus, Lolo Fakaosilea, Les Leuluaialii-Makin, Lachlan McCaffrey, Connal McInerney, FaaleleiSione, Darcy Swain, Rob Valetini, James Dargaville, Isaak Fines, Kyle Godwin, Jordan Jackson-Hope, Ryan Lonergan, Matt Lucas, Andrew Muirhead, Chance Peni, Henry Speight, Lausii Taliaulii, James Verity-Amm, Andrew Walker.

Watch the Brumbies at the 2018 Brisbane Global Rugby Tens on Foxsports channel 505 with the following game times:


Brumbies v Fiji at 6.09 pm;

Brumbies v Crusaders at 10.30 pm.


Brumbies v Hurricanes at 4.33 pm.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.