28 November 2014

Canberra hosts first Asian Cup footy fan park

| Canfan
Start the conversation

Deputy Chief Minister Andrew Barr, Senator Kate Lundy, former Socceroo and esteemed coach John Kosmina, Nutmeg the wombat mascot and Canberra United players are among the special guests who will appear over the next week at the travelling Asian Cup Fan Park opening its Australian tour in Canberra today.

Minister Barr will kick-off celebrations at the dome-shaped football park at Garema Place with a digital shoot-out with Canberra United player Grace Gill and the support of Trinity Christian School students and Nutmeg at 11.30am, ahead of the official public opening at 12pm.

The fan park will offer fans the chance to engage with AFC Asian Cup Australia 2015, the biggest football tournament ever held Down Under, through a range of informative, entertaining and competitive activities.

Fans can have their photos taken interactively with their favourite national team, have their faces digitally painted in their team’s colours, score the winning goal in the virtual penalty shootout and produce their best goal celebrations in the Score and Roar studio.

The fan park will be open from 12-3pm and 5-9pm daily from Friday (November 28) until Thursday (December 4), before making its way to the other host cities of Melbourne, Brisbane, Newcastle and Sydney.

Canberra highlights/ guests include: Senator Kate Lundy (Saturday, 12pm); Football Community Day (Sunday); Canberra United players (Monday); Community Ambassadors (Tuesday); John Kosmina (Wednesday); and Canberra United players and Heather Reid (Thursday).

In keeping with the cutting-edge technology of the parks, interactive tablets will be on hand for fans to secure their tickets to all AFC Asian Cup matches from January 9-31, 2015. Sydney company, The Creative Shop, will deliver the fan park services using technology they designed and developed.

The AFC Asian Cup is Asia’s biggest football competition and was established in 1956.

The 16 nations to qualify for AFC Asian Cup Australia 2015 are Australia as hosts, defending champions Japan, Korea Republic and 2012 AFC Challenge Cup winners DPR Korea, along with Bahrain, China, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and Palestine.

The 16 finalists will take part in a 23-day festival of football in five cities which the Socceroos will kick off against Kuwait on January 9, 2015, in Melbourne, with the final set for Sydney’s Stadium Australia on January 31, 2015.

The tournament is being financially supported by the Australian Government and the NSW, Victorian, Queensland and ACT Governments.

Fox Sports will broadcast all 32 matches of AFC Asian Cup live in HD throughout Australia. ABC is the official AFC Asian Cup free-to-air broadcaster.

Tickets for AFC Asian Cup Australia 2015 are on sale now.

For more information on AFC Asian Cup Australia 2015 visit www.afcasiancup.com

(AFC Asian Cup Media Release)

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.