14 October 2013

Canberra Poetry Slam at the Front

| Barcham
Start the conversation

Canberra’s Poets never stop fighting each other!

They can’t. They’re like sharks, but except instead of swimming, it’s fighting. And instead of water, it’s each other… Instead of fins they have waistcoats?

I’m losing control of that I’m saying.

Speaking of saying things, Tasnim Hossein, Aaron Kirby, Will Small, Zoe Erskine, Zohab Zee Khan, Omar Musa, and Ellie Malbon will all be doing exactly that there!

That is quite a list.

In 2013 we have been very very lucky to have had some amazing Feature Acts grace the Canberra Poetry Slam stage this year.

So for the October Slam we will be featuring a whole bunch of them, plus a very special Guest!

The night commences at 8pm with the Open Mike session, followed by a small slam where 8 poets will compete against each other. We will then move into presenting sets from our feature poets!

What: Canberra Poetry Slam Presents: Slam Super Sets
When: Friday, the 25th of October at 8pm
Where: The Front Gallery and Cafe, Wattle Place, Lyneham
Entry Fee: $5 or free if you compete in the Poetry Slam!

The rules of the slam are simple:
1. Perform an original Poem
2. Without any props or accompaniments
3. Within 3 minutes.

Featuring sets from:
Tasnim Hossein, Zoe Erskine, Ellie Malbon, Australian Poetry Slam 2013 finalists Aaron Kirby, Will Small and Zohab Zee Khan and 2008 Australian Poetry Slam winner Omar Musa.

Check out a selection of recordings from our feature poets through the following link: http://canberrapoetryslam.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/october-poetry-slam-feature-acts/

Hosted by JC Inman, and his loyal minion returned Flying V.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.