20 September 2023

Canberra real estate's best recognised at annual industry awards night

| Travis Radford
Join the conversation
The Property Collective directors Hannah Gill and Will Honey

The Property Collective directors Hannah Gill and Will Honey celebrated their agency’s win of Project Property Marketer of the Year, Community Service Award and the Residential Property Management Team of the Year. Photo: REIACT.

Great teamwork has been the secret to success at the Real Estate Institute of the ACT’s (REIACT) annual Awards for Excellence, according to those who took home its top gongs.

More than 350 Canberra real estate professionals came together this month to celebrate the individuals and agencies recognised across REIACT’s 33 award categories.

LJ Hooker Woden Weston franchise owner, licensee and licensed agent Jane Macken said she was humbled to be named Residential Salesperson of the Year.

“My success is due to the fact I love what I do and I have a great team behind me. I couldn’t do it without my team,” she said.

“I’m very passionate about making people’s lives happy and selling real estate is part of that journey for me and for them.”

Property Marketer of the Year Ash Costello reclaimed the award category on behalf of Home.byHolly after one of its agents last won the category in 2021.

“[Home.byHolly] is a leader in creative marketing,” she said. “Every home is different and I love curating campaigns to showcase the unique story of a home.”

READ ALSO Federal software issue delays accessibility, energy efficiency requirements for new builds

Meanwhile, Business Development Manager of the Year went to The Property Collective operations manager Jarryd Kirchner, who credited his win to being flexible and accessible.

“It’s really a combination of small things, the one percenters, showing up with a positive attitude and making sure you’re willing to go the extra mile for clients, making sure you’re continually up-skilling, working out efficiencies and better ways of doing things, so you stay ahead of the competition and consistently deliver excellent results across the board,” he said.

The Property Collective also won three awards: Project Property Marketer of the Year, Residential Property Management Team of the Year, and the Community Service Award.

“We really do work as a collective,” director of sales and projects Will Honey said.

“We collaborate to get the best outcomes for our clients. We have good people and we work really well together.”

LJ Hooker team photo

LJ Hooker received multiple awards across its various agencies. Photo: REIACT.

LJ Hooker Canberra City franchise owner and LJ Hooker Project Marketing ACT managing director Andrew Ligdopoulos similarly paid tribute to a great team and culture for his franchise’s win of the Large Residential Agency of the Year award.

“We’ve also got an amazing training regime and great systems behind the scenes that help us achieve the results that we aim for,” he added.

“We’re lucky that we’ve got a lot of experienced salespeople who share their knowledge, not only among themselves but also with the new agents that come through the business.

“We’re also blessed to have the support of the LJ Hooker corporate network across Australia. They’re second to none.”

LJ Hooker’s franchises and staff were also awarded Residential Sales Team of the Year (LJ Hooker Dickson), Residential Property Manager of the Year (LJ Hooker Kippax executive property manager Jodie Cross), Novice Auctioneer of the Year (LJ Hooker Gungahlin licensed agent and auctioneer Brianna Williams) and Auctioneer Franchise of the Year (LJ Hooker).

READ ALSO $10b Housing Australia Future Fund Bill passes Parliament after Govt and Greens seal deal

Colliers Canberra also won big, taking home Commercial Agency of the Year. Several of its staff were also recognised, including Debbie Daly (Commercial Property Manager of the Year), Aaron Bruce (Leasing Consultant of the Year), Katie Goodall (Operational Leadership Person of the Year), Liz Thornton (Operational Support Person of the Year) and Sarah Smyth (Achievement Award).

Claire Corby of Capital Buyers Agency was inducted into the REIACT Hall of Fame after winning Buyers’ Agent of the Year for the fourth year and the Sustainability Leadership Award.

Other award winners included:

  • Linda Vella (Community Housing Canberra) for the Community Housing Property Manager of the Year
  • Murphstone Media as Service Provider of the Year
  • VERV Property for the Marketing & Communications Award and Innovation Award
  • Jesse Mason (Convey) for the Conveyancer of the Year
  • Kane Smith (Barton Commercial Property) for the Rookie of the Year
  • Michael Ceacis (Canberra Commercial) for the Commercial Salesperson of the Year
  • Eoin White (Chamberlains) for the Solicitor of the Year
  • James Scott (VERV Property) for the Allhomes People’s Choice Auctioneer Award
  • Blackshaw Queanbeyan & Jerrabomberra for the Small Residential Agency of the Year
  • Alex AhKey (Blackshaw Queanbeyan & Jerrabombera) for the President’s Award
  • HomeGround Real Estate Canberra for the Sustainability Leadership Award for Agency.

All 2023 REIACT award winners go on to represent the ACT at the Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) National Awards for Excellence in May 2024.

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.