16 March 2023

Canberra claims a quarter of the 2023 National Awards For Excellence in real estate

| Dione David
Start the conversation
Jarryd Kirchner, Hannah Gill, Terri Scheer and Will Honey at NAFE awards

The Property Collective operations manager Jarryd Kirchner and director of property management Hannah Gill, NAFE PM Award sponsor Terri Scheer and The Property Collective director of sales and projects Will Honey. Photo: REIA.

The nation’s capital punched well above its weight at the Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) National Awards For Excellence (NAFE), taking home almost a quarter of the total 21 awards of the night.

More than 300 finalists and their supporters converged in Perth for the most prestigious real estate industry awards, where four Canberra real estate companies and professionals brought five titles home.

Independent Property Group won the Marketing and Communications Award, Matthew Winter of Colliers ACT brought home Commercial Salesperson of the Year and Blackshaw Queanbeyan and Jerrabomberra was named Small Residential Agency of the Year, while The Property Collective claimed both the Innovation Award and Residential Property Management Team of the Year.

The Property Collective director of property management Hannah Gill said while it was always “incredibly humbling” to win any award, these two awards were particularly meaningful for the team.

“The Property Collective is only two years old and it has been a tough two years for the industry as a whole. But that just makes it all the more rewarding to receive any recognition at a national level, let alone in these categories,” she said.

“We have a deliberate and constant focus on refining the industry to make it better – in the way we operate, the service we provide to our clients and in how we support our team.

“To be awarded for innovating is particularly meaningful to us because we believe innovation makes a difference for our clients and our people – and that’s ultimately what The Property Collective is about.”

READ ALSO Fresh ideas and experienced minds form 2023 REIA board to ‘help more Australians into affordable homes’

Ms Gill said the Residential Property Management Team of the Year award was “close to her heart”.

“It has been my forte for the last 14 years. Over the years, we’ve talked a lot about why traditional property management is broken, why clients were feeling let down, and what we could do better,” she said.

“Coming up with a model we think really works and delivers on mission has been incredibly rewarding in itself. But being awarded for it represents how all that hard work and how each team member’s contribution to that has paid off.

“We’re very proud, and it’s incredibly humbling.”

Independent Property Group brand and marketing general manager Narelle Casey said the ACT always performed exceptionally well at the national awards.

“It’s a testament to the high level of professionalism across our industry in the Territory,” she said.

“It feels amazing to have our team be a part of that and to be recognised as being the best in Australia in our marketing and communications.”

Independent Property Group’s Narelle Casey (left) was delighted when REIA CEO Anna Neelagama (right) presented the Marketing and Communications Award to The Independent Property Group. Photo: REIA.

Last year Independent launched its Build to Rent asset management component – a new sector in the Australian market – and its short-term accommodation property management service Guested, which gives new and existing landlords the chance to explore the higher financial return option backed by the Group’s 60-plus years experience in Canberra property management.

“Both of these components launched successfully and exceeded their targets, with Guested achieving number one in received market share in the ACT,” Ms Casey said.

“I imagine these were both very compelling parts of our submission, but we also surpassed all our other business goals for the marketing department.

“We have a team of six in-house marketing specialists. They’re all amazing at their roles and fabulous people. The fact that we’re able to deliver in-house to our business goals through effective marketing is thanks to their professionalism and hard work.”

REIA President Hayden Groves said the awards showcased the best of the best in an industry that has undergone incredible change and challenges in recent times.

NAFE 2023 finalists were drawn from the REI’s 2022 state and territory Awards for Excellence (AFEs) winners, who were judged by an independent practitioner panel against stringent NAFE criteria.

There were 21 categories covering all aspects of the real estate sector from residential and commercial agencies, sales and leasing, buyer’s agents, community service, innovation and communications and property management.

READ ALSO Blood, sweat and remarkable generosity – what the Strathnairn Charity House really represents

The full list of NAFE 2023 winners are:

Industry Excellence

  • President’s Award – Chris McGregor, 4one4 Property Co (Tasmania)
  • Achievement Award – Claudia Brooks, Porters House Buyers Agent (NSW)
  • Business Broker of the Year – Nikki Katz, The Business Sales Agency (SA)
  • Business Development Manager of the Year – Nathan Moore, Harris Real Estate (SA)
  • Buyers’ Agent of the Year, Amanda Gould, HighSpec Properties (NSW)
  • Community Service Award, Harcourts Huon Valley Hilltop Hike (TAS)
  • Innovation Award, The Property Collective (ACT)
  • Marketer of the Year Award, Nick Bond, Harcourts Huon Valley (TAS)
  • Marketing and Communications Award, Independent Property Group (ACT)
  • Operational Leadership AwardTara Stokes, Ouwens Casserly (SA)
  • Operational Support Award, Amy Blackburn, McGrath Estate Agents (VIC).


  • Commercial Agency of the Year – CBRE (VIC)
  • Commercial Property Manager of the Year – Nathanial Barbagallo, Colliers International (NSW)
  • Commercial Salesperson of the Year – Matthew Winter, Colliers ACT (ACT).


  • Large Residential Agency of the Year – Harris Real Estate (SA)
  • Medium Residential Agency of the Year – Harcourts Huon Valley (TAS)
  • Residential Property Management Team of the Year – The Property Collective (ACT)
  • Residential Property Manager of the Year – Kristy Copping, Perth Property Management (WA)
  • Residential Sales Team of the Year – RT Edgar Peninsula (VIC)
  • Residential Salesperson of the Year – David Highland, Highland Property Agents Pty Ltd (NSW)
  • Small Residential Agency of the Year – Blackshaw Queanbeyan and Jerrabomberra (ACT).

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.