26 January 2015

Canberrans honoured in Australia Day awards

| Canfan
Start the conversation

Several Canberrans are receiving Australia Day Honours in 2015 for the exceptional contribution they all make to the community in a variety of fields.

Canberra is a community made up of so many passionate, talented and giving individuals, and I am proud to call this city home. To all of the Canberrans who have received accolades this year, thank you for the tireless work you do in your respective fields of endeavour, which makes our city such a wonderful place to live.

Professor Michael Miles Gore AM was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to science through a range of public outreach, communication and education initiatives and as a mentor and role model for young scientists;

Several recipients have been appointed the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) including:

  • Carrie Graf for significant service to basketball, particularly as a coach, mentor and athlete, and to the community; and
  • Heather Reid for significant service to sport administration, particularly football, in the Canberra region, and as an advocate for gender equality in sport.

I would particularly like to congratulate Carrie and Heather, having worked closely with them in my various Ministerial roles, for their tireless work promoting sport and recreation in Canberra.

A number of Canberrans have been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) including:

  • Sally Richards for her work as an innovator, activist and advocate for people with a disability since 2004.

Seven Canberrans will also receive Public Service Medals (PSM), three of which are ACT public servants:

  • Grace Dunlop for outstanding public service to primary education in the Australian Capital Territory, as an advocate for gifted and talented students;
  • Donald Fletcher for outstanding public service to conservation and the environment, particularly through significant contributions to ecological research, innovation and management; and
  • Roslyn Hayes for outstanding public service to people with a disability in the Australian Capital Territory through policy development and reform.

I would like to extend my sincere congratulations to all of those who have been acknowledged in this year’s Australia Day Honours, and thank them all once again for the contribution they make to Canberra.

(Andrew Barr Media Release)

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.