Educators honoured for 40 years of service

Barcham 23 May 2013

Joy Burch has given awards to three educators to honour their 40 years of service to advancing education in the ACT.

“Today I am pleased to acknowledge three outstanding individuals, each who have dedicated more than 40 years of service to the advancement of education in the ACT,” Ms Burch said.

“I see in school staff the best qualities of our ACT Public Service, and I would like to congratulate these education professionals for their commitment and dedication to their profession, their students and their community.”

Grace Dunlop has been Principal of Kaleen Primary School for the past 22 years. She has excelled as a leader and an educator, recognised when she received the 2010 ACT Principal of the Year Award. Grace has played an active role in coordinating ACT leadership gatherings, and was a foundation member of the ‘Dare to Lead’ program.

Murray Bruce is Principal of Gordon Primary School, and in his 44 years of service he has shown that the role of a Principal extends beyond the school walls by working closely with the other 21 schools in his cluster as well as conducting presentations nationally and working with international mentors.

Elaine Zwangobani’s passion for teaching English has reaped huge benefits for our community. As a result of Elaine’s 40 years of service the ACT has been rewarded with courses she has developed for our curriculum and the International Baccalaureate.”

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site