12 December 2016

Fyshwick Markets website back online

| Charlotte
Join the conversation
Fyshwick Markets

Update: A spokeswoman for the Fyshwick Fresh Food Markets called late today to explain that the markets’ website was down for several hours today because a virus struck one of their trader’s websites.

“There is nothing sinister going on with our site at all. It will be up and running again shortly,” she said.

We checked this evening and the site was indeed live again.

The Fyshwick Markets website is down with a fairly aggressive message from its internet hosting provider reading “Account Suspended. This Account has been suspended. Contact your hosting provider for more information.”

The much-loved markets are currently up for sale for the first time in 27 years. Expressions of interest closed on October 8.

There are more than 30 retailers including fruit and vegetable outlets, butcher and seafood stores, a wine merchant, a nut shop, a pet shop, bakeries and delicatessans on the Dalby Street, Fyshwick site, which operates Thursday to Sunday from 8am-5.30pm.

The Visit Canberra website includes plenty of information about the markets, including their email address, getfresh@fyshwickfreshfoodmarkets.com. We sent them and email but it is also down as a result of the same issue with the hosting provider. The reply came back:

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

mailbox is full: retry timeout exceeded

Action: failed
Final-Recipient: rfc822;getfresh@fyshwickfreshfoodmarkets.com
Status: 5.0.0

We’ve put a call in to the markets and to the real estate looking after the sale to find out whether the sale is progressing as they’d hoped and will update this story as soon as they return our call.

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments
Madam Cholet8:54 am 05 Nov 15

I don’t pay too much attention to RiotAct these days, but have to say that when I saw this post via twitter yesterday I was surprised at the suspicious tone of this post. I think these messages are fairly standard when, as the previous poster says when something has gone slightly awry. I can see why the spokesperson who called you used the word ‘sinister’.

Maybe wait for confirmation next time before putting up the post in the first place.

I don’t know if there’s much of a story here. Someone probably forgot to pay the hosting bill, which makes sense if they’re in a period of transition. It happens.

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.