Leading violinist performs Australian concerto debut

Canberra_Symphony_Orchestra 13 August 2015


One of England’s most distinguished violinists, Andrew Haveron, will be making his Australian concerto debut with a performance of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto as the Canberra Symphony Orchestra continues its tribute to Finnish composer Sibelius in his 150th anniversary year.


Recently appointed concertmaster of the Sydney Symphony, Andrew’s illustrious career has seen him lead celebrated orchestras including the London Symphony, Royal Philharmonic, and the BBC Symphony Orchestra. As first violinist with the Brodsky Quartet Andrew has collaborated with artists such as Elvis Costello, Björk, Paul McCartney and Sting, and now comes to Canberra to perform a piece he’s extremely familiar with.

“I made my concerto debut playing Sibelius’ Violin Concerto when I was 15 years old and I have been playing it frequently ever since, yet every time I come back to it I find myself changing my ideas about it,” said Haveron.

Now, having performed all of Sibelius’ symphonies and tone poems, and having also accompanied many of today’s finest soloists in this concerto, Andrew feels like he knows the piece inside-out.

“Its technical challenges haven’t diminished whatsoever, perhaps the opposite, but I feel that I can play this piece as a musician and not just a ‘violin operative’. This concerto has some of the most moving atmospheres and musical climaxes of any violin concerto, and these aspects seem to intensify inside me as the years go on.”

CSO Chief Conductor and Artistic Director, Nicholas Milton, has prepared a program which spans the breadth of European musical tradition.

Kodály’s thrilling Dances of Galánta capture the fire and energetic spirit of the Romani musical tradition.

Sibelius’ rhapsodic, lyrical, tender and rhythmic violin concerto evokes Finland’s lakes, pine forest and tundra.

The fourth symphony of Brahms is a monumental work of inspired beauty and emotion contained within a brilliantly crafted symphonic structure, promising a powerful conclusion to an evening of great orchestral music.


Llewellyn Series 15.3: BRAHMS
19, 20 August, 7.30pm
Llewellyn Hall, ANU
Tickets from $20. Visit
www.cso.org.au for more information.

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter


Search across the site