8 December 2021

CORRECTED: Make-up of QPRC starting to take shape after Saturday's election

| James Coleman
Start the conversation
Queanbeyan City Council Chambers

Queanbeyan City Council Chambers: the composition of the new council is taking shape after Saturday’s election. Photo: Google Maps.

ALP candidates Bryce Wilson and Esma Livermore are guaranteed seats in the Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council after Saturday’s election, with Ms Livermore becoming the first Indigenous woman on a Queanbeyan council. The third ALP candidate is John Preston and is a good chance of also being elected.*

The ALP has received more than 20 per cent of the vote.

Coming up next is the independent Group F, with more than 17 per cent. Kenrick Winchester and Edwina Webster are in, while Peter Lindbeck may also join them.

The Liberals have received around 16 per cent of the vote, giving them two seats. Louise Burton is raking in the most votes for the party, with the next highest being Jacqueline Ternouth.

Mareeta Grundy from the independent Group B is next, just ahead of Katrina Willis from The Greens.

Both are guaranteed to become councillors.

Preferences will determine the remaining two seats on the QPRC council.

So far, Steve Taskovski from Group D, the largest of the independent groups, and former councillor Michele Biscotti from Group G have the greatest chance of being elected.

Candidates across NSW were concerned that a lack of how-to-vote cards due to COVID restrictions might see a rise in the number of informal votes. At the moment, around 8 per cent of votes are informal.

The number of votes going to lead candidates suggests that most voters opted to vote above the line on the ballot paper, rather than attempt to rank the 75 candidates below the line.

A final result is guaranteed by Christmas Day. A mayor and deputy mayor will then be elected from the 11 successful councillors.

For the full list of figures, visit the NSW Electoral Commission website.

*CORRECTION: An earlier version of this story indicated that Esma Livermore was the ALP’s third candidate and could be elected. Ms Livermore is the ALP’s second candidate and will be elected. John Preston is the ALP’s third candidate and may take a seat in the chamber. Region Media apologises for the error.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.