18 June 2013

Miles Franklin award to be announced at the National Library

| johnboy
Start the conversation

This has come in which will no doubt be quite exciting to literary bods:

The Trust Company, as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, and the 2013 judges, will be announcing the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award Winner, tomorrow Wednesday 19 June 2013.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s oldest and most prestigious literary prize and is presented to the novel of the year which is judged to be of the highest literary merit and “presents Australian Life in any of its phases”. The winner of the award will receive $60,000.

The Trust Company’s Head of Community and Philanthropy, Simon Lewis, as well as members of the judging panel, will be available for interviews before and after the official announcement.

Event details:

When: Wednesday 19 June 2013

Time: between 1.00pm – 2:00pm

Where: National Library of Australia, Parkes Place, Canberra ACT

The 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist is:

— Romy Ash: Floundering

— Michelle De Kretser: Questions of Travel

— Annah Faulkner: The Beloved

— Drusilla Modjeska: The Mountain

— Carrie Tiffany: Mateship with Birds

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.