24 March 2023

Still here after 50 years? Congratulations you're simply gold, Canberra gold

| Sally Hopman
Join the conversation
Audience of people

Members of Canberra’s Gold community are recognised for their commitment during Canberra’s birthday celebrations. Photo: Sally Hopman.

They are gold. The people who have spent 50 years contributing to Canberra life. Be it through work, community or representing the nation’s capital in their own way.

And every year, as part of Canberra’s birthday celebrations, they are publicly applauded for their efforts by the ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr. It represents appreciation from the government and fellow Canberrans.

READ ALSO Katrina Fanning named Canberra’s 2023 Citizen of the Year

This year, they were honoured for their contribution at a joint ceremony with the naming of the 2023 Canberran of the Year. Ms Katrina Fanning, AO, PSM, a Wiradjuri woman, took out this year’s title for her dedication to and work for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community.

Announcing recipients of the 2023 Gold Award, Mr Barr said the honour went to people and groups who chose to make a long-term commitment to the ACT.

Two winners with ACT Chief Minister

Gold winners Anna Losano and Charles DeAngelis with the ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr. Photo: ACT Government.

“Through this award, the ACT Government celebrates this dedication by honouring individuals and groups who have resided or operated in the ACT for 50 years or more,” he said.

This year’s group Gold winners were:

  • ACT Scale Modellers Society
  • Air Scouts
  • Australian National Eisteddfod Inc
  • Badimara Scout Group
  • Council on the Ageing
  • Cricket ACT
  • Garran Scout Group
  • Kama Scout Group
  • Majura Mountain Scouts Group
  • Mount Taylor Scout Group
  • University of Canberra Hockey Club Inc.
  • Weston Scout Group
Group of five winners with ACT Chief Minister.

Chief MinisterAndrew Barr shares a joke with members of the ACT Scouting groups who received Gold awards. Photo: ACT Government.

Individual Gold winners for 2023 were: Richard Allen, Brian Bell, Paul Bellchambers, Judith Bibo, Pamela Blackwell, Neville Blackwell, Iris Bunt, Noel Bunt, Stephanie Burgess, Sally-Anne Butt, Warren Butt, Helen Margaret Cameron, Pamela Cass, Sandy Cassidy, Hugh Crawford, Fay Mary Cull, Suzanne Davies, Charles DeAngelis, Edna Dundas, Pamela Dwyer, Wendy Elliott, Maureen Etherington, Carole Ford, Christine Elizabeth Foster, Gary Gledhill, Ian Goudie, Phil Harris, Matthew Hicks, Ian Edward Hirst, Lynette Holton, Penne Humphries, Anne Doreen Illingworth, Brian Jeffrey, Shaun Jeffrey, Angela Jeffrey, Kerrie Jones, John Brian Kennedy, Gisela Koch, Jennifer Koch, Robert Koch, Jennifer Kuzek, Andrew Kuzek, Mark Liddiard, Christine Liddiard, Norma Lole, Anna Losano, Graeme McIntosh, June McKenzie, Maxwell McKenzie, Ian McKenzie, Domenico Mirenda, Margaret Mitchell, John Francis Morrison, Veronica Nelmes, Alan North, Anthony John Pead, Mary Peters, Ralph Anthony Peters, Luciano Pini, Simone Place, Ursula Ramsay, Brian Read, Helen Read, Guy Richardson, Christine Richardson, Janice Schroder, Jodie Sexton-Bock, Suzanne Smith, Tania Spagnolo, Francesco Spagnolo, Carmelo Spagnolo, Rosalia Spagnolo, Jim Steed, Deborah Steed, Catherine Tonna, Robyn Tresize, Carolyn Turner, Michael Turner, Erwin Uhle, Ronald Van Meurs, Gabrielle Watt, Greg Weir and Carol Weir.

Group winners received a certificate of appreciation while individual recipients received a pin and certificate.

Nominations for the 2024 Canberra Gold Awards are now open.

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments

My father came to Canberra in 1950 and never left he will be 100 years old in August this year. Why aren’t these citizens advised of these awards, he has never heard of them.

… and just how do you expect them to know, Lois? Stop whining and nominate him.

I guess I am still a newie, having arrived in Canberra proper in 2008. I have, however lived across the border in Queanbeyn between 1997 and 2009, intending to spend about two years here and then heading back to Perth. I am still here 26 years later and still planning to sell up and leave.

When did these awards start? Never heard of them before and I’ve lived here for nearly 25 years.

Just realised that it looks like people have to nominate themselves to get an award from the Government. Pass.

Matthew Driver10:44 pm 26 Mar 23

Take chill pill. You and I don’t need an award to be proud to call Canberra home.

Lol. I was born in Canberra and have lived and worked here all my life. I’m 65 years old this year and have never been contacted about receiving an award.

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.