Wall, Coe score in shadow cabinet reshuffle

Charlotte 7 August 2016 1

Andrew Wall

Brendan Smyth’s departure has made way for renewal with his fellow Brindabella MLA Andrew Wall and Alistair Coe the principal beneficiaries of Jeremy Hanson’s Shadow Cabinet reshuffle today following the news that Mr Smyth will leave the Legislative Assembly to become ACT Commissioner for International Engagement.

Mr Smyth’s Brindabella colleague Mr Wall, a former patio-business manager who has been vocal in his criticism of the ACT Government’s memorandum of understanding with UnionsACT in recent months, adds Industrial Relations and Business and Economic Development to four portfolios already held: Corrections, Indigenous Affairs, Disability and Youth. He will also become the Opposition Whip.

Mr Coe becomes Shadow Treasurer in addition to his existing responsibilities as Deputy Leader of the Opposition and in the portfolios of Transport, Urban Services, Planning and Infrastructure and Heritage. He will also become Chair of the Estimates Committee, a Member of the Parliamentary Budget Office Select Committee and a Member of the Public Accounts Committee.

Alister Coe

Opposition Leader Jeremy Hanson said all existing shadow ministers would retain their responsibilities. He has added Gaming and Racing to his own portfolio list.

“I’m lucky to lead a Canberra Liberals team with a wealth of talent and experience, who will take on additional roles following on from Brendan’s Smyth’s resignation,” Mr Hanson said.

Nicole Lawder takes on Arts and Tourism and will become Chair of the Public Accounts Committee.

Giulia Jones adds Emergency Services and Steve Doszpot gains Higher Education.

Mr Smyth is due to start his public service role on August 3. It is likely that after a countback he will be replaced in the Assembly by Tharwa post office manager Val Jeffery.

PORTFOLIO LIST (Today’s additions in italics)

Jeremy Hanson
Leader of the Opposition
Shadow Minister for Health
Shadow Attorney-General
Shadow Minister for Police
Shadow Minister for Gaming and Racing
Shadow Minister for Veterans’ Affairs

Alistair Coe
Deputy Leader of the Opposition
Shadow Treasurer
Shadow Minister for Transport
Shadow Minister for Urban Services
Shadow Minister for Planning and Infrastructure
Shadow Minister for Heritage

Steve Doszpot
Shadow Minister for Education
Shadow Minister for Higher Education
Shadow Minister for Sport and Recreation
Shadow Minister for Ageing
Shadow Minister for ICT

Andrew Wall
Shadow Minister for Business and Economic Development
Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations

Shadow Minister for Corrections
Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs
Shadow Minister for Disability
Shadow Minister for Youth

Nicole Lawder
Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services
Shadow Minister for Environment
Shadow Minister for Housing
Shadow Minister for Arts and Tourism

Giulia Jones
Shadow Minister for Women
Shadow Minister for Emergency Services
Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Shadow Minister for Mental Health

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with
One Response to Wall, Coe score in shadow cabinet reshuffle
Mordd Mordd 2:55 pm 18 Jul 16

That list right there is the perfect example why we need an expanded chamber. There is no way Hanson or Coe especially can be expected to properly give enough time to all those different major portfolios.

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter


Search across the site