18 November 2013

10 students given 10 bank accounts with $100 in each

| Barcham
Start the conversation

The Molonglo Community Bank Group just award 10 year 11 students with a $100 community bank account as a reward for doing good in their communities.

That’s very nice of them, but surely they would have just preferred the $100?

ACT Minister for Education and Training Joy Burch today presented Molonglo Community Bank Group Student Awards to the students at a special awards ceremony in Curtin.

“These Awards celebrate the goodwill of students in their school and wider community and it was humbling to hear of the many altruistic qualities of our young people in the ACT. Their goodwill ensures a stronger and more sustainable school system and local community,” Ms Burch said.

Now in its second year, the awards acknowledge the positive contribution that Year 11 students in both ACT public and non-Government schools make to the community. Recipients were each awarded with a $100 Community Bank account.

Winners are:

— Ethan Mitchell – Black Mountain School
— Josh White – Erindale College
— Jarod Cornish – Gungahlin College
— Jessica Dillon – Melba Copland Secondary School
— Jack Eljuga-Bundock – The Woden School
— Jade Turner – Brindabella Christian College
— Haydn Andrews – Daramalan College
— Owen Steer – Canberra Grammar School
— Lara Sweeney – Trinity Christian School
— Thomas Earle – Radford College

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.