23 September 2019

Meteors coach announces 'perfect combination' to lead ACT this season

| Lachlan Roberts
Start the conversation
Erin Osborne will return as captain for the 2018-19 WNCL season and all-rounder Angela Reakes will be vice-captain. Photo: Supplied

Erin Osborne will return as captain for the 2018-19 WNCL season and all-rounder Angela Reakes will be vice-captain. Photo: Supplied.

The ACT Meteors head coach James Allsopp believes he has found the perfect leadership combination for the ACT side in the 2018-19 WNCL season, naming spinner Erin Osborne and all-rounder Angela Reakes as the leadership duo.

Osborne will return to captain the side she led to finishing fourth on the ladder last season and will be joined by Reakes as her deputy.

The head coach also named an extended leadership group with 25-year old spinner Sam Bates and 24-year old batter Katie Mack rounding out the group.

The captains and coaching team discussed introducing a leadership team for their upcoming campaign, and Allsopp believes the new-look leadership group will be a big factor in the Meteors success this season.

Allsopp said the leadership duo of Osborne and Reakes is the perfect combination to lead the team as the side prepares for their opening round match on 21 September.

“Erin is very astute when it comes to tactics and cricket related decisions whilst Ange has been the glue that holds the squad together for a number of years now,” Allsopp said.

“Ange and Erin have a great relationship and are both extremely honest with one another in an effort to continually support their growth as leaders.”

Allsopp said he felt Osborne had developed considerably as a leader and it was an easy decision for her to continue as skipper.

“She is an Ashes and World Cup winning player for Australia. These are aspirations that all players in our squad have,” Allsopp said. “I know that Erin is really determined to lead our girls’ in taking that next step to becoming international cricketers.”

“Erin learnt a great deal from her experience as captain of the team during the 2017-18 season and has been extremely reflective as to how she can continue to grow and learn as a leader.”

2018-19 ACT Meteors Squad

Erin Osborne (C), Angela Reakes (VC), Hayley Jensen, Nicola Hancock, Katie Mack, Claire Koski, Erin Burns, Erica Kershaw, Matilda Lugg, Maitlan Brown, Clara Iemma, Samantha Bates, Zoe Cooke, Anna Lanning

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.