26 April 2018

Six young Canberrans chosen to advise ACT Government on important youth issues

| Lachlan Roberts
Start the conversation
Young Canberrans

Six young Canberrans have been appointed as new members to the Youth Advisory Council, which helps brief the ACT Government on important issues for young people in the Canberra community.

The Youth Advisory Council comprises of 15 young people, aged between 12 and 25 years, who are committed to taking a lead role on issues that affect young people in the ACT.

The Council provides young people with an opportunity to take a leading role on issues that affect their lives and raise awareness of the aspirations, needs and concerns of young people within government and the community.

The six new members are a wide range of ages, from uni students, full-time workers and year eight and eleven students. The new Council members will serve a term of up to two years.

ACT Minister for Youth Rachel Stephen-Smith announced the new members of the council last Friday:

  • Ms Sukanya Ananth – Ms Ananth believes youth employment, rights and opportunities, fair wages and youth poverty are issues of importance.
  • Ms Dhani Gilbert – Ms Gilbert is currently studying Year 11 at Dickson College. Ms Gilbert is passionate about indigenous issues, cultural identity and social inclusion.
  • Mr Ngalan Gilbert – Mr Gilbert is passionate about getting youth involved in the environment and planning of the ACT and educating people about the importance and cultural development of acceptance of Aboriginal people in the ACT.
  • Mr Liam Jones – Mr Jones believes that youth mental health, access to education and homelessness are issues impacting young people in the ACT.
  • Ms Grace Kemp – Junior House Captain, Alfred Deakin High and is currently studying Year 8 in the Accelerated Program across all her subjects. Ms Kemp is passionate about mental health services for school-aged people.
  • Mr James Morgan – Mr Morgan is passionate about indigenous issues and “closing the gap” for indigenous youth in the areas of youth employment, education, mental health and wellbeing.

Ms Stephen-Smith said she was looking forward to meeting with the new council and learning about the issues the new members will be championing on behalf of young Canberrans.

“Membership of the Council reflects the diversity of young people in the ACT community, including gender balance, people with disability, people from culturally linguistically and diverse backgrounds and representation from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community,” she said.

As well as the six incoming members, Ms Natasha Tioukavkin, an existing Council member, will join Mr Isaac Martin as Co-Chair of the Council for a one year term.

“I thank everyone who nominated for a position on the Council and encourage them to stay engaged in youth affairs in the ACT,” Ms Stephen-Smith said.

“I also thank the six outgoing members for their hard work and commitment to the Council for the period of their term and wish them well in their future endeavours.”

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.