The Health Commissars unveiled

johnboy 27 July 2011

Chief Minister Katy Gallagher has announced the makeup of the first ACT Local Hospital Network Council:

    — Mr Michael Peedom
    — Professor Nicholas Glasgow
    — Ms Lynette Brown
    — Ms Mary Montgomery
    — Ms Colleen Duff
    — Dr Rashmi Sharma

    — Mr Michael Moore
    — Mr John Runko
    — Ms Darlene Cox
    — Ms Megan Cahill

This is part of Kevin Rudd’s largely forgotten and mostly watered down health reforms. Katy had this to say:

“The ACT LHN will form a networked system that will hold service contracts with ACT Health directorate, comprised of the Canberra Hospital, Calvary Public Hospital, Clare Holland House and the Queen Elizabeth II Family Centre.”

The ACT Government will continue to manage the system-wide public hospital service planning and performance, including the purchasing of public hospital services and capital planning, and will be responsible for the management of the performance of the ACT LHN.

“The Council is required to consult with the community about any issue affecting the satisfactory delivery of health services, and the overall performance of the ACT LHN. It will provide a quarterly report to me as the ACT Minister for Health, providing details of progress the Council has made for each of its functions, and any other significant developments during the quarter,” the Chief Minister said.

Bios of the council members are attached to the Chief Minister’s release.

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter


Search across the site