Skip to content Skip to main navigation

News

Get a new bike from $50 per week

They’re off and racing in Election ’10

By johnboy 2 August 2010 28

[First filed: Jul 31, 2010 @ 12:00]

Election '10 Candidates collage

So the AEC has bestirred itself this morning to let the general public see the lists of candidates.

For those who like it raw the relevant pages are Canberra and Fraser.

Disappointingly the multi-party weirdness of the down ticket seems to be a thing of the past with only the no-quite-defunct Democrats and the Dawkins-loving Secular Party contributing colour and movement.

It’s also notable that very few candidates are bothering with websites, or even decent photos of themselves online. I would say this election is having the least impact on the web since John Howard came to power for all the new media enthusiasms.

Without further ado here are the candidates in the order they’ll appear on the ballot:


Canberra

Guilia Jones

JONES, Giulia – Liberal – Political Adviser
Phone (work): 0439 958 298
Email: gjones@canberraliberals.org.au

Sue Ellerman

ELLERMAN, Sue – The Greens – Counsellor/Community Support
Email: sue@act.greens.org.au

Gai Brodtmann

BRODTMANN, Gai – Australian Labor Party – Consultant


Fraser

James Milligan

MILLIGAN, James Keith – Liberal – Publisher
Phone (work): 02 6273 5155
Email: James@canberraliberals.org.au

Quintin Hedges-Phillips

HEDGES-PHILLIPS, Quintin – Secular Party of Australia – Television Presentation Coord
Phone (home): 02 6251 7575
Email: gqhphillips@gmail.com

Andrew Leigh

LEIGH, Andrew – Australian Labor Party – economist
Phone (work): 02 6247 4066
Email: andrew.leigh@australianlabour.com.au

Indra Esguerra

ESGUERRA, Indra – The Greens – Business Owner
Email: indra@act.greens.org.au


The Senate

Kate Lundy

ALP 1 – LUNDY, Kate Alexandra [incumbent] – Australian Labor Party – ACT Senator
Phone (work): 02 6230 0411
Email: senator.lundy@aph.gov.au

David Matthews

ALP 2 – MATHEWS, David – Australian Labor Party – Company Director
Phone (work): 02 6162 0062
Email: david@davidmathews.com.au

Darren Churchill

DEM 1 – CHURCHILL, Darren Mark – Australian Democrats – Casual Relief Teacher
Phone (home): 0412 196 473 Phone (work): 0412 196 473
Mobile: 0412 196 473
Email: darren.churchill@democrats.org.au

DEM 2 – DAVID, Anthony John – Australian Democrats – IT Specialist
2/8 Henslowe Place
MELBA ACT 2615
Phone (home): 0414 581 385
Phone (work): 0414 581 385
Mobile: 0414 581 385
Email: anthony.david@democrats.org.au

Lin Hatfield Dodds

GRN 1 – HATFIELD DODDS, Lin – The Greens – Community Sector CEO
Email: lin@act.greens.org.au

Hannah Parris

GRN 2 – PARRIS, Hannah – The Greens – Consultant
Email: hannah@act.greens.org.au

Gary Humphries

LP 1 – HUMPHRIES, Gary [incumbent] – Liberal – Senator
Phone (work): 02 6247 6444
Email: senator.humphries@aph.gov.au

Matthew Watts

LP 2 – WATTS, Matthew – Liberal – Public Servant (resigned)
PO BOX 3348
BELCONNEN ACT 2617
Phone (work): 02 6273 5155
Mobile: 0409 017 891

GLYNN, John – Independent – Former Public Servant
20 Prescott St
FARRER ACT 2607
Phone (work): 02 6286 5847
Mobile: 0412 633 416
Email: john.glynn@optusnet.com.au

What’s Your opinion?


Please login to post your comments, or connect with
28 Responses to
They’re off and racing in Election ’10
Filter
Showing only Website comments
Order
Newest to Oldest
Oldest to Newst
housebound 10:38 pm 19 Aug 10

Just direct your own preferences. Quite easy here in the ACT.

PigsFly 9:39 pm 19 Aug 10

Does anyone know what his preferences are?

Murphy 2:58 am 04 Aug 10

Here’s a web site for John Glynn:
http://johnglynnforsenate.org

whitelaughter 1:25 pm 03 Aug 10

HappyDaisy said :

Mr John Glynn, beyond contacting him and finding out what he believes in, has anyone found anything about him?

Nope, and he has yet to respond the email I sent him. (To be fair, he’s only had a couple of days).

kym_st 9:20 pm 02 Aug 10

This https://www.belowtheline.org.au/ is a really cool interactive tool to show you where your party of choice has allocated their preferences in the Senate and allows you to create your own below-the-line Senate how-to-vote card according to your own prefs. Not too difficult in the ACT but if you were voting below the line in any of the states it’s a preference minefield.

The Traineediplomat 4:32 pm 02 Aug 10

I think you’ll find the Secular Party at http://www.secular.org.au

But I agree with HappyDaisy, more info from Mr Glynn about what his views are would help make an informed decision.

sepi 4:25 pm 02 Aug 10

Or Mr Secular Party – what are they on about?

And why no pic of Guilia in the montage?

Nice to see loads of women standing this time around.

    johnboy 4:29 pm 02 Aug 10

    the available pix of Giulia (few and far between) wouldn’t play ball with my montaging software.

    But if she wants to send in a standard jpg we’re happy to add her in.

Related Articles

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Top
Copyright © 2018 Region Group Pty Ltd. All rights reserved.
the-riotact.com | aboutregional.com.au | b2bmagazine.com.au | thisiscanberra.com

Search across the site