Top ACT educators recognised

Canfan 12 September 2014

Minister for Education and Training Joy Burch last night congratulated the winners of the 2014 ACT Public Education Excellence Awards, recognising school leaders, teachers, support staff and volunteers in the ACT public school system.

“Our school communities do an outstanding job in educating and supporting our children,” Ms Burch said.

“The Public Education Excellence Awards were introduced in 2010 to recognise and celebrate outstanding achievement in public education in the ACT.

“In 2014, we received a record 123 nominations, showing how much our community values the work of our public school principals, teachers, support staff and volunteers.

“This year a new category, Family and Community Partnerships, has been introduced to recognise our priority to actively engage with families, students and the wider community. Developing these relationships leads to improved learning outcomes for our students.

“The inaugural winner of this category is the staff at Charnwood-Dunlop School. The staff and school community created the Active Brain Café (ABC Café) which provides breakfast and reading for families before school, extension literacy and maths clubs after school and a Koori homework club.”

The full list of categories and winners are:

  • Primary Teacher of the Year – Robyn Hammond, Hughes Primary School
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year – Nor Idris, Lyneham High School
  • Outstanding School Leadership Award – Sue Norton, Fraser Primary School
  • Teaching/Leadership in Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Education – Lynn Leon, Kaleen Primary School
  • Early Childhood Teacher of the Year – Michele Foley, Turner Primary School
  • New Educator of the Year – Matthew Eyles, Calwell High School
  • Education Support of the Year – Debbie Carne, Harrison School
  • School Hero of the Year – Brian Johns, Hughes Primary School
  • Family and Community Partnerships Award – Charnwood-Dunlop School Staff

“Congratulations to all nominees and winners. We appreciate the work you do each and every day to ensure ACT students have the best possible education. I would also like to thank the sponsors, Teachers Mutual Bank and Hawker Brownlow Education, for their support,” Ms Burch said.

The winners were announced at a ceremony at the National Gallery of Australia.

(Joy Burch Media Release)

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site