UC Book of the year 2014 entries and judges announced

Barcham 14 June 2013

The second annual University of Canberra Book of the Year competition has just announced the shortlist of novels, as well as the panel of judges. Margaret Pomeranz joins the judging panel this year, which is awesome because she is awesome.

The shortlist, announced today, is the following five novels, drawn from books that have been Commonwealth Prize Winners in the last three years.

— Chinaman, by Shehan Karunatilaka
— The Dubious Salvation of Jack V, by Jacques Strauss
— The Memory of Love, by Aminatta Forna
— Room, by Emma Donoghue
— The Town That Drowned, by Riel Nason

The winning book, to be announced in next month, will be selected based on its appeal to a wide audience, but particularly to school-leavers. It must also demonstrate the potential for the University to expand on important themes raised in the book in the social and educational life of the campus. The winning book will be given to all new 2014 students and university staff.

The full panel of judges is:

— Mr Nigel Featherstone, award-winning author, previous manager of Arts Development ACT
— Professor Nicholas Klomp, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (education), University of Canberra
— Ms Penelope Layland, research student, University of Canberra
— Emeritus Professor Satendra Nandan, University of Canberra
— Ms Margaret Pomeranz, movie and book critic and presenter, At the Movies, ABC Television
— Professor Jen Webb, professor of arts and humanities, University of Canberra

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter


Search across the site