Hellenic club takes out Large Club of the Year

XO_VSOP 15 May 2014


The Hellenic Club of Canberra have taken out the Large Club of the Year, winning the most prestigious club award at the 2014 ClubsACT Awards for Excellence Gala Dinner hosted at the Southern Cross Club Canberra, this past Friday.

The gala dinner is the clubs industry night of nights and is attended by over 400 industry leaders .

Jeff house CEO of Clubs ACT congratulated the 2014 winners who competed in 22 categories and saw clubs awarded for their excellence in food and beverage, service, community contribution, as well as a number of employee awards.

“There was a clear dominance this year by three club groups who shared multiple awards, the Southern Cross Club venues, the Vikings Group and the Hellenics. They are a tribute to the great work these clubs are doing in servicing the Canberra community.

“Notably, the Vikings Group took out seven categories including the Medium Club of the Year accolade for their Town Centre Club.

“CEO Greg Mitchel of the Southern Cross Club of Canberra has been a long serving figure in the Canberra club industry received the Outstanding Service Award.

“Despite the group dominance the National Press Club of Barton also took out three awards including Small Club of the Year.

“David Lockwood (25) of the Hellenic Club of Canberra was named the Young Achiever of the Year and was recognised for his outstanding ability and dedication. Assuming a role as Head Chef of the Hellenic Clubs Floresco restaurant at the Australian National Botanical Gardens he has displayed an ongoing passion and willingness to always take on new challenges despite his young age.

“The ACTTAB Chefs Battle now in its second year saw a strong calibre of chefs test their culinary talent and show the very best of the Canberra club food offering. This coveted accolade was taken by the Southern Cross Club Tuggeranong team Executive Chef Anurag Guatam and 3rd year apprentice chef Bradley Howden.

“Particular tribute is afforded to our industry partners who are integral part of our ability to support industry and hold nights such as this. Aristocrat, Lion, Bradley Allen Love, Carlton & United Breweries, OPCit and all our supporters we thank you” Mr House concluded.

A full list of winners is available on the ClubsACT website at www.clubsact.com.au


What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site