Pre-polling open at ACT and interstate voting centres

Charlotte 27 September 2016

Pre-poll voting started today for ACT voters who cannot attend a polling place on ACT Legislative Assembly election day (October 15). It will continue till 8pm on October 14.

There are two pre-poll centres open in Canberra City and one each in the Belconnen, Gungahlin, Tuggeranong and Woden town centres (address details and opening hours are below).

Postal voting is available for electors who are interstate, overseas, confined to home or otherwise unable to go to a polling place or pre-poll voting centre. Electors can apply for a postal vote online at or by ringing 6205 0033.

From today, interstate voters can also cast pre-poll votes during normal business hours Monday to Friday at State and Northern Territory electoral commissions (address details also below).

Pre-poll voting in Canberra is available at six pre-poll voting centres. These pre-poll voting centres are open 9:00am to 5:00pm, Monday to Friday, except for:

  • Monday 3 October – closed due to public holiday
  • Saturday 8 October – open 9am to 5pm
  • Friday 14 October – open 9am to 8pm.

Electronic voting is available at all ACT pre-poll voting centres during the pre-poll voting period and on polling day.

Pre-poll voting centres in the ACT

Belconnen Community Centre, Swanson Court, Belconnen.
Pilgrim House, 69 Northbourne Ave, Canberra City.
Eclipse House, 197 London Circuit, Canberra City.
Gungahlin Library Conference Room 1, Hibberson St, Gungahlin.
Salvation Army Hall, Cnr Anketell St & Reed St North, Tuggeranong.
Callam Offices, 58 Easty St, Woden.

Interstate voting centres

From now until October 14, voting at interstate voting centres will be available Monday-Friday between 9am and 5pm.

NSW: NSW Electoral Commission, Level 25, 201 Kent Street, SYDNEY.
Northern Territory: Northern Territory Electoral Commission, Level 3, TCG Centre, 80 Mitchell Street, DARWIN.
Queensland: Electoral Commission Queensland, Level 6 Forestry House, 160 Mary St, BRISBANE.
South Australia: Electoral Commission of South Australia, Level 6, 60 Light Square, ADELAIDE.
Tasmania: Tasmanian Electoral Commission, Level 3, TasWater Centre, 169 Main Road, MOONAH.
Victoria: Victorian Electoral Commission, Level 11, 530 Collins Street, MELBOURNE.
Western Australia: Western Australian Electoral Commission, Level 2 AXA Centre, 111 St George’s Terrace, PERTH.

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site