Time to get your nominations in for Book Of The Year and the Poetry Prize

johnboy 8 March 2011

Chief Minister Stanhope is letting us know that he’s opened nominations for the ACT Book of the Year Award and the ACT Poetry Prize.

“These awards allow the ACT Government to encourage and recognise the achievements of some of Canberra’s most talented writers and poets, and to honour the valuable contribution they make to the cultural life of the ACT,” Mr Stanhope said.

The ACT Book of the Year Award, which carries a prize of $10,000, recognises quality contemporary fiction and non-fiction works.

Previous winners have included Marion Halligan in 2010 for Valley of Grace and Nicholas Drayson in 2009 for A Guide to the Birds of East Africa: A Novel.

Nominations are also being sought for the four categories under the ACT Poetry Prize which carry a total prize pool of $20,000.

The Judith Wright Prize for a published collection, Alec Bolton Prize for an unpublished manuscript and Rosemary Dobson Prize for an unpublished poem by an Australian poet are open for national entry while the David Campbell Prize is awarded for an unpublished poem by an ACT-based poet.

Nominations close, perhaps appropriately, on April Fools Day.

The Book of the Year and Poetry Prize nomination forms are now online,

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter


Search across the site