Canberra’s Queen’s Birthday Honours List congratulated

Canfan 9 June 2014

Chief Minister, Katy Gallagher, has today congratulated the many Canberrans recognised for their exceptional contribution to the community in the 2014 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

The Chief Minister said that the 69 Canberrans who are recipients of Queen’s Birthday Honours this year have all shown outstanding dedication in their chosen fields and have made an enormous contribution to our community and to our nation.

“All of the people who are recognised today have made a substantial contribution, either directly to the ACT, or to Australia as a nation. I’m proud that we have such talented people working and living in our community,” the Chief Minister said.

Among those who are being recognised for the Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) are:

  • Professor David Lindenmayer for his distinguished service to conservation and the environment in the field of landscape ecology, and to tertiary education;
  • Patricia Anderson for her distinguished service to the Indigenous community as a social justice advocate, particularly through promoting improved health, educational and protection outcomes for children;
  • Professor Desmond Ball for his distinguished service to international relations as an academic, author and researcher, to Australian Defence policy formulation, and to the security architecture of the Asia-Pacific region; and
  • Dr Rosemary Bryant for her distinguished service to the profession of nursing through national
    and international leadership.

Some notable Canberrans are also being awarded the Member of the Order of Australia (AM), including:

  • ABC journalist and presenter Virginia Haussegger for her significant service to the community as an advocate for women’s rights and gender equality and to the media;
  • Richard Gray for his significant service to the community through policy direction and reform in the not-for-profit aged care and disability service sectors;
  • Professor Michael Levy for his significant service to medicine in the field of public health as a clinician, academic and educator; and
  • Dr Stephen Jiggins for his service to the community of the ACT, particularly as an advocate for improved road safety.

In addition, the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) was awarded to a number of Canberrans, including:

  • ABC journalist Tim Gavel for his service to the media as a sports broadcaster, and to the ACT community;
  • Fiona Kennedy for her service to nursing and to the ACT community;
  • Patricia Wilks for her service in education in the ACT; and
  • Bede Tongs for his service to veterans, particularly through military history organisations.

“Canberrans contribute back to the community on many levels and share their many talents with others to make a difference not only locally, but nationally and internationally,” the Chief Minister said.

“This year’s Honours recipients embody what makes Canberra such a great city, and on behalf of all Canberrans, I would like to thank award recipients for the hard work they do and difference they make. Congratulations on this achievement,” the Chief Minister concluded.

For more information about the Australian Honours System visit:

(Media Release Katy Gallagher MLA)

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site