Friday night lights and one afternoon clash for Brumbies as 2019 Super Rugby draw announced

Lachlan Roberts 12 June 2018

Venues for the fixtures are yet to be confirmed for the 2019 season. Photo: Photox – Canberra Photography Services.

The Brumbies will play three Friday night home matches and a sole afternoon home clash next season, as the 2019 Super Rugby draw was announced on Tuesday morning (12 June).

The ACT side will play eight home games next season as SANZAAR announced their draw almost three months earlier than the usual unveiling.

The Brumbies will kick their season off against the Melbourne Rebels on February 15, one of six local derby matches the Brumbies will play next season.

Brumbies fans can look forward to home clashes against arch-rivals Waratahs, the Chiefs and Blues from New Zealand, a pair of matches against South African rivals the Lions and the Bulls, and the return of the Japanese Sunwolves.

Between round eight and round 11, the Brumbies will face the Crusaders (A) and Lions (H) before travelling to South Africa and Argentina to play the Stormers and Jaguares in what is a tough stretch of games for the Australia side.

The season run-in will see trips to Japan to take on the Sunwolves in the return fixture and the local derby in Sydney against the Waratahs before the regular season concludes with a home match against the Reds in mid-June.

The season will run uninterrupted for 21 weeks, with no break for Test matches mid-season due to the Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan later in the year. There will also be a uniform start to the tournament in round one with a full round of seven matches to kick-off Super Rugby.

Venues for the fixtures are yet to be confirmed.


1 Fri 15 Feb Rebels H 19:45
2 Sat 23 Feb Chiefs H 19:45
3 Fri 1 Mar Hurricanes A 19:35 17:35
4 Fri 8 Mar Rebels A 19:45
5 Fri 15 Mar Waratahs H 19:45
6 Sun 24 Mar Reds A 15:05 16:05
8 Sat 6 Apr Crusaders A 17:15 15:15
9 Sat 13 Apr Lions H 19:45
10 Sat 20 Apr Stormers A 15:05 23:05
11 Sat 27 Apr Jaguares A 18:40 07:40(28 Apr)
12 Sat 4 May Blues H 19:45
13 Sun 12 May Sunwolves H 16:05
15 Fri 24 May Bulls H 19:45
16 Sat 1 June Sunwolves A 14:15 15:15
17 Sat 8 June Waratahs A 19:45
18 Sat 15 June Reds H 19:45


What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site