22 September 2022

Real estate agents shine at 2022 REIACT Awards for Excellence

| Evelyn Karatzas
Join the conversation

Pictured at the 2022 REIACT Awards for Excellence were Independent Property Group’s Meg Taylor, Narelle Casey, Joe Franco, Jessica Lamisere, Natalie Runko and Tim Ngo. Photo: REIACT.

Canberra’s real estate industry stars took the spotlight at the 2022 REIACT Awards for Excellence at the Hotel Realm on Friday night.

About 440 professionals from the ACT property sector gathered to acknowledge and celebrate outstanding achievements in another year of challenges and opportunities.

REIACT president Hannah Gill said this year’s award-winners were chosen from 118 submissions in 23 categories.

“This is the most ever received in the 28-year history of the awards and I congratulate all our winners and also commend all the finalists,” Ms Gill said.

“The record number of submissions this year is a testament to the standards of professionalism and how important these awards are to our nominees.

“We must also recognise our Auctioneering Chapter with 10 entrants in our Auctioneer of the Year and Novice Auctioneer of the Year categories.”

READ ALSO Calls for supply boost as buying and renting continues to erode incomes

Among this year’s winners were The Property Collective, which took out the Residential Property Management Team of the Year title and, Charlie Evans from Verv Property, who won Leasing Consultant of the Year.

Independent Property Group won Large Residential Agency of the Year, Residential Property Manager of the Year and Operational Support Person of the Year making them the most awarded company on the night.

Independent Property Group CEO Kylie Dennis said the last 12 months was challenging and presented a market that was more demanding than ever.

“Our dedication to delivering the best outcomes is testament to our talented team of nearly 200 property experts,” she said.

“We are honoured to be named Large Agency of the Year for the second year running and our commitment to be the best for our clients and our staff remains stronger than ever.”

Natalie Shawcross, Jason Roses and Charlie Evans

Verv Property’s Natalie Shawcross, Jason Roses and Charlie Evans. Photo: Verv Property.

Verv Property’s Charlie Evans said it was amazing to be selected as a recipient of the awards.

“It was very unexpected, but a fabulous achievement in itself,” she said.

“I did a lot of hard work last year, so it was really nice to be recognised.”

Attending for the first time, Charlie said she had a great night celebrating her own and her colleagues’ success at the REIACT Awards.

“It was a great opportunity to get all of the people in our industry to step away from their busy lives and come together to celebrate our wonderful achievements.”

Following on from the 2022 REIACT Awards, 18 winners will represent the nation’s capital at the REIA National Awards for Excellence which will be held in Perth on 9 March, 2023.

READ ALSO Still plenty of reasons to dip a toe into the Canberra property market

Canberra agents Guy Randell, Burgess Rawson Canberra, and Alec Brown, Ray White Canberra, were inducted into the REIACT Hall of Fame for Commercial Salesperson of the Year 2019, 2020 and 2021 and Auctioneer of the Year 2018, 2019 and 2021.

Ray White Canberra auctioneer Alec Brown and Sandra Masters from LJ Hooker in Kippax will also be representing the Real Estate Institute at the Australasian Auctioneering Championships in Sydney from 16 to 18 October.

This competition will involve 12 auctioneers from Australia and New Zealand competing for the title of Australasia’s best auctioneer.

The Ray White auctioneer, who took out the 2022 Auctioneer of the Year and People’s Choice Auctioneer of the Year awards, said he was always working on his craft.

“It is an honour to be awarded Auctioneer of the Year again and I am looking forward to representing the ACT at the upcoming championships,” Alec said.

“It is good to see the numbers of auctioneers growing here in Canberra, not just amongst the more experienced in the industry but seeing the novices coming through as well.”

On receiving the induction in the REIACT Hall of Fame: “I had no idea that was coming. It is an honour and a privilege to be recognised in such a formal way”.

Alec Brown

Alec Brown from Ray White Canberra was named Auctioneer of the Year. Photo: Ray White Canberra.

One of the event’s highlights was the presentation of the three Real Estate Institute of Australia Associates.

REIA’s Associate and Fellow Programs were launched in 1962 as a way of recognising emerging and established leaders in the industry that were strong supporters of State and Territory Institutes, to generate a future pipeline of leaders.

This year’s recipients included Guy Randell, from Burgess Rawson Canberra, Claire Corby, from Capital Buyers Agency, and Alex Ah Key, from Blackshaw Queanbeyan and Jerrabomberra.

The full list of award winners:

  • Residential Property Manager of the Year – Emily Larsen, Independent Property Management
  • Commercial Agency of the Year – Burgess Rawson
  • Service Provider of the Year – Murphstone Media
  • Property Marketer of the Year – Jonny Warren, Jonny Warren Properties
  • Operational Leadership Person of the Year – Jarryd Kirchner, The Property Collective
  • Community Service Award – Ray White Canberra
  • Marketing and Communications Award – Independent Property Group
  • Conveyancer of the Year – Fiona Wilkinson, LJ Hooker Conveyancying
  • Solicitor of the Year – Matthew Carmody, McInnes Wilson Lawyers
  • Novice Auctioneer of the Year – Bianca Way, home.byholly
  • Leasing Consultant of the Year – Charlie Evans, Verv Property
  • Innovation Award – The Property Collective
  • Project Property Marketer of the Year – LJ Hooker Project Marketing ACT
  • Auctioneer of the Year – Alec Brown, Ray White Canberra
  • Large Residential Agency of the Year – Independent Property Group
  • Buyers’ Agent of the Year – Claire Corby, Capital Buyers Agency
  • Small Residential Agency of the Year – Blackshaw Queanbeyan and Jerrabomberra
  • Commercial Property Manager of the Year – Natalie Shawcross, Verv Property
  • Commercial Salesperson of the Year – Matthew Winter, Colliers (ACT)
  • Residential Sales Team of the Year – Team Bunday, LJ Hooker Dickson
  • Medium Residential Agency of the Year – home.byholly
  • Operational Support Person of the Year – Ashleigh Smith, Independent Property Group
  • Auctioneer Franchise of the Year – home.byholly
  • Business Development Manager of the Year – Maria Edwards, HomeGround Canberra
  • Residential Property Management Team of the Year – The Property Collective
  • Allhomes People’s Choice Auctioneer of the Year – Alec Brown, Ray White Canberra
  • Rookie of the Year – Patrick Barton, Barton Commercial Property
  • Residential Salesperson of the Year – Jess Smith, Stone Gungahlin

Join the conversation

All Comments
  • All Comments
  • Website Comments

Isn’t this just backslapping among used car sales folk ‘oh well done me for ensuring the housing market stays overinflated’.

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.