Skip to content Skip to main navigation


Home loans made clear

Here and Now Australian Monopoly

By Jazz 5 June 2007 22

A little while ago we noted that venerable game maker Hasbro had announced a new Australian Monopoly Board. Well, a few moments ago we got wind that its being released thismorning. In just a few minutes we’ll find out if Hopeless Stan’s nominations of Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra, Anzac Parade, Tidbinbilla Native Park and Cotter Reserve make the dark blues of Mayfair, or dark purple of Old Kent Road.

If you happen to be in Eastwood in the next 10 minutes, find out who made it an who didnt!

[ED – Arrggh, the light blues. Thanks papadoc for the heads up.]

and expect the unexpected at the champagne unveiling of


The first new Australian Monopoly Board in 25 years!

Join a gathering of Mayors and dignitaries from many of Australia¹s favourite regions when we reveal who made it onto the board and where you¹ll end up when you advance your token to Mayfair, the most prestigious position on the board!

For the first time in its 25 year history, the Australian version of the world¹s most popular board game, Monopoly, has undergone a face lift with Australians being given the chance to shape history and decide what towns or regions they wanted on the board!

An extraordinary 16.8 million votes determined which 22 regions made it onto the all new Australian Monopoly Here & Now board (and which secured the coveted Mayfair postion) from the 40 regions were nominated by the Chief Minister and Premier of each territory and state.

And the nominations are:

New South Wales: – Sydney, Byron Bay, Broken Hill, Tamworth and The Snowy Mountains.

Victoria: – Melbourne, The Great Ocean Road, The Yarra Valley, Phillip Island and Sovereign Hill

ACT: -Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra, Anzac Parade, Tidbinbilla Native Park, Cotter Reserve.

Queensland: Longreach, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, The Great Barrier Reef, Brisbane.

South Australia: Adelaide, The Flinders Ranges, Barossa Valley, Murraylands, Kangaroo Island.

Western Australia: Perth, Margaret River, Broome, Exmouth, Kalgoorlie.

Tasmania: Cradle Mountain, Port Arthur, Mount Wellington, Launceston, The South West World Heritage Area.

Northern Territory: Uluru, Kakadu National Park, Devils Marbles, Darwin, Katherine George

Marketing Manager for Monopoly, Amanda says that the new board is controversial but won¹t give any clues as to who scored the prime real estate positions, saying, ³Expect the unexpected. The 22 regions that made it onto the board and the positions they have been given is entirely the result of the Australian public¹s voting, which in many cases were surprising. Those that secured a spot on the board will no doubt be thrilled as the original artwork imagery that we¹ve commissioned for each of these areas has created a truly stunning new board.²

Being a Here & Now version of Monopoly, there a host of other changes to the boards in the all new and Australian and modernized tokens, Chance & Community Chest cards.

Advance to Hasbro¹s Head Office at 570 Blaxland Road Eastwood at 9.30am (for 9.45am) this Tuesday 5th June, 2007.

Contacts: Kate Richards on 02 9999 0853 or on-site on 0404 892 782

What’s Your opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with
22 Responses to
Here and Now Australian Monopoly
Showing only Website comments
Newest to Oldest
Oldest to Newst
soulman 5:57 pm 06 Jun 07

dare i ask who’s on what side.

Maelinar 9:45 am 06 Jun 07

Until they come up with Axis and Allies, Australia version, I’m really not interested.

Related Articles

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Copyright © 2018 Region Group Pty Ltd. All rights reserved. | | |

Search across the site