Nominations for ACT Book of the Year Award

Canfan 17 June 2014

Canberra writers are encouraged to nominate their works for the 2014 ACT Book of the Year Award, Minister for the Arts Joy Burch said today.

The $10,000 prize is open to ACT writers who have had a contemporary work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry published in the 2013 calendar year.

“The ACT is home to many excellent writers, and the ACT Government is proud to continue its support and recognition of our writers through this Award,” Ms Burch said.

“The Award has been running since 1993 and the strong and diverse range of quality works it attracts each year reflects the depth of writing talent in the ACT.

“Through our Arts Policy Framework, the ACT Government is committed to supporting writing and this award is an important part of that commitment.”

Previous winners include The Sex Lives of Australians: A History by Frank Bongiorno, The Biggest Estate on Earth by Bill Gammage, The River by Chris Hammer, and Valley of Grace by Marion Halligan.

Nominations open today and can be made online until 5pm, 1 August 2014. For more information and to apply, visit

(Media Release Joy Burch)

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site