Rugby heading back to ABC TV

PB 2 December 2007 20

ABC online is reporting that:

Top-flight rugby union will be seen on Aunty for the first time since 1991 with news that ABC TV will televise the inaugural Australian Rugby Championship (ARC).

The ARC will be contested from August 11 until October 14 and will feature teams from Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland, the ACT and NSW.

The deal will give the ABC exclusive TV rights for the competition until 2009, with the games to be televised on ABC TV and the ABC2 digital channel.

[ED: anyone know the name of the ACT team?]

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with
20 Responses to Rugby heading back to ABC TV
Hasdrubahl Hasdrubahl 8:32 am 15 Feb 07

The Snowy Whites….er….Browns.

Thumper Thumper 8:31 am 15 Feb 07

Yeah, fair call…

However, under that reasoning we could have been called the Corroboree Frogs…

simto simto 8:27 am 15 Feb 07

Well, we are close-ish to Snowy River country. Certainly closer than any other rugby side…

Thumper Thumper 8:21 am 15 Feb 07

Yes, have made aquaintance with some of them whilst riding them. hardly think they qualify as stereotypical ‘wild bush brumbies, worth a thousand pound’ stuff.

simto simto 8:18 am 15 Feb 07

Well, I see horses on a semi-regular basis (there’s a few on a paddock on Adelaide Avenue). Genuine Brumbies, though, are admittedly harder to find…

Thumper Thumper 8:13 am 15 Feb 07

When was the last time anyone saw a brumby (horse version) in Canberra?

Bueller? Bueller? Anyone?????

Hasdrubahl Hasdrubahl 7:18 am 15 Feb 07

The Burly Griffins.

Ingeegoodbee Ingeegoodbee 6:27 pm 14 Feb 07

The new ACT team needs to be named after something definatively Canberran, like the Brumbies…” Unless of course your from Victoria, NSW or the NT where feral horses are called brumbies…

Maybe the uniquely Canberran thing could work though – we could call the the “Stanhopes”, after all no other State or Territory has a screwed up little jack-boot Marxist quite like our beloved (decietful) leader.

Sammy Sammy 5:43 pm 14 Feb 07

How about:

The two-spined blackfish’s.

lateralis lateralis 4:00 pm 14 Feb 07

The Bogongs? The hopes of Stan? What about the ACT roundabouts?

Kramer Kramer 3:27 pm 14 Feb 07

The new ACT team needs to be named after something definatively Canberran, like the Brumbies… Perhaps the Golden Sun Moths? or maybe the Legless Lizards??

Absent Diane Absent Diane 10:17 am 14 Feb 07

I vote for “Chuggs the Slightly Disproportionate Bear (of doom)”

Hasdrubahl Hasdrubahl 10:10 am 14 Feb 07

Sounds too much like “Pillocks”, Sammy.

I vote for “The Rapiers”. Don’t drop the “i”.

Sammy Sammy 9:19 am 14 Feb 07

Taking their cues from the Raiders and their shockingly named newsletter (The Crusade), I believe the team is to be called ‘The Pillagers’.

S4anta S4anta 8:53 am 14 Feb 07

I like that name. Its snazzy and it represents all the fat, dopey, bum sniffing slobs that stink up the sheltered workshops that may, or may not be representative of the various public service outlets around the palce.

Thumper Thumper 8:49 am 14 Feb 07

Nope, they will be called the Wombats.

S4anta S4anta 8:40 am 14 Feb 07

I have heard that the ACT team will be a Brumbies A side, similar to what played in the rum cup last year.

Hasdrubahl Hasdrubahl 7:41 am 14 Feb 07

In which case, why don’t we recommend to the ARU that they call the team ‘The RiotACT’?

wolfkeeng wolfkeeng 11:24 pm 13 Feb 07

whoo hoo! ’bout time there was something btn Super 14s & premier rugby (also broadcast by our beloved aunty). Get the impression the ACT team doesn’t have a name yet.

PB PB 9:36 pm 13 Feb 07

According to

The Australian Rugby Championship will involve eight teams from Western Australia, the ACT, Victoria, NSW and Queensland. The three teams from New South Wales have not yet been named, but they will represent three geographical areas:
Sydney: playing at North Sydney Oval
West Sydney: playing at Parramatta Stadium
Central Coast: playing at Central Coast Stadium.

In Queensland, the Brisbane River will form a geographical divide between the two teams. The Sunshine Coast Stingrays, Norths-QUT, Brothers, Wests, GPS and University will play at Ballymore. The Easts, Souths, Sunnybank, the Gold Coast Breakers and the Country Heelers will play at the Gold Coast Stadium at Carrara.

Canberra, Melbourne and Perth will have their own stand-alone teams.

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site