8 February 2022

Dr Marie-Louise Ayres to lead National Library for a second term

| Ian Bushnell
Start the conversation
Dr Marie-Louise Ayres

Director-general of the National Library of Australia Dr Marie-Louise Ayres will continue the national institution’s digital transformation. Photo: NLA.

Dr Marie-Louise Ayres has been reappointed director-general of the National Library of Australia (NLA) for a second five-year term, beginning on 2 March.

Dr Ayres has served in the role since 2 March, 2017, having joined the library in 2002. She has worked in research libraries for nearly 30 years after completing a PhD in Australian Literature at the Australian National University.

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, Paul Fletcher said Dr Ayres would continue to play an integral role in the digital transformation of the National Library of Australia over the next five years.

“I congratulate Dr Ayres on her reappointment as she prepares to mark 20 years of service to the institution, in which time she has worked as a project manager, assistant curator, senior curator, assistant director-general and director-general,” Mr Fletcher said.

“Her most recent work has focused on providing digital access to cultural resources throughout Australia, including through the Digital Classroom, whose reach increased by 81 per cent in 2020-21 to 878,573 visits.

“Dr Ayres has also overseen the redesign of Trove, Australia’s free online portal, which plays a critical role in underpinning Australian humanities and social sciences research. In 2020-21, Trove received almost 18 million visits and doubled its online resources to 13.5 billion digital items.”

READ ALSO Renée Leon on revolving ministers, PS capability, and juggling kids and career

Dr Ayres is immediate past chair of National and State Libraries Australasia, the peak body for national, state and territory libraries of Australia and New Zealand. She is also vice chair of the Conference of Directors of National Libraries.

In 2020, Dr Ayres was elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities in recognition of her significant contribution to the humanities, the arts and Australian cultural life.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Canberra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Riotact stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.