Damian Cantwell appointed new ACT Electoral Commissioner

Ian Bushnell 4 October 2017

Australian Army officer Brigadier Damian Cantwell, AM, Deputy Commander 2nd Division, meets with officers from the Chinese People’s Liberation Army during Exercise Kowari at Larrakeyah Barracks in Darwin, Northern Territory, on 25 August 2016. Photo: Cpl Jake Sims.

There will be a changing of the guard at the ACT Electoral Commission with the appointment of Brigadier (Retired) Damian Cantwell AM for a five-year term as the new ACT Electoral Commissioner.

Brigadier Cantwell will succeed long-time ACT Electoral Commissioner Phillip Green, commencing on 1 November 2017 following Brigadier Cantwell’s retirement from full-time Army service in October.

“I look forward to leading the dedicated and experienced Elections ACT team, and building on their highly valued skills to serve the Legislative Assembly and people of the ACT in the future. I’m excited about the challenges ahead,” Brigadier Cantwell said.

Speaker of the ACT Legislative Assembly Joy Burch said Brigadier Cantwell had served as a commissioned officer in the Australian Defence Force for 37 years, including high-level Defence Force liaison roles in the United States and senior roles assisting the Government of Afghanistan in the conduct of the 2009 Afghanistan election.

Chair of the ACT Electoral Commission Dawn Casey said Brigadier Cantwell brought a wealth of senior executive strategic leadership and change management experience, with a track record of delivering quality outcomes in often challenging and complex environments.

“It is clear he approaches this role with the high level of personal energy, commitment, integrity and strong ethics needed of an ACT Electoral Commissioner and he is excited by the challenges ahead in leading the Commission,” Ms Casey said. “I look forward to working with Brigadier Cantwell to continue the important work of Elections ACT.”

The ACT Electoral Commission is an independent statutory authority comprising a Chairperson, the Electoral Commissioner and part-time Member with responsibility for the conduct of elections and referendums for the ACT Legislative Assembly, as well as the determination of ACT electoral boundaries. The Electoral Commissioner is an Officer of the Legislative Assembly and Chief Executive of Elections ACT.

What's Your Opinion?

Please login to post your comments, or connect with

CBR Tweets

Sign up to our newsletter

Region Group Pty Ltd

Search across the site